Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

ALMA/Primo Training: Discovery-Primo

Discovery Service Basics

A Discovery Service allows a patron to access the library's holdings

(print, electronic and digital) in one search box with refinements.

View Primo live- click on the CSU Vanguard campus links!

Our Campus View is now available! See CSU LA link

Primo /Primo Central Index

 

                                  Primo        

      (Public Interface)                                     

Primo Central Index

(Activation Backend)

Full-text Access

(Link resolver)

Xerxes (API)
  • Interface that displays holding to patrons.

 

  • Holdings include: print, media and items activated in PCI.
  • *This is where you define what you want searchable: e-resources are activated/tracked. 

 

  • Primo Central Index (PCI) is a centralized Primo index that encompasses hundreds of millions of records of global or regional significance that are harvested from primary and secondary publishers and aggregators. The number of records is constantly growing as additional data sources are added.

 

  • The records include a mix of scholarly material – primarily articles and e-books – but also conference proceedings, newspaper articles, and more. In addition to citation metadata, many records include abstracts and some also include full text.

 

  • The full text in PCI is indexed and used for discovery, not for delivery.
PCI built in Link Resolver
 
 
         
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
WHAT: A link resolver is a product that, figuratively speaking, sits between a “source,” where a user begins the search process, and a “target".
 
HOW: the link resolver parses the elements of an OpenURL and provides links to appropriate targets available through a library by the use of an Knowledgebase that contains info. about availability/accessibility of e-resources.
  • API: application programming interface: used to pull data from different sources. An application programming interface (API) is a description of the way one piece of software asks another program to perform a service. The service could be granting access to data or performing a specified function.

 

In terms familiar to most users, a discovery layer is a Google-like search across all library resources. In library language, a discovery layer is a searchable meta-index of library resources, usually including article-level metadata, e-book metadata, metadata from library catalogs, open access resource metadata, etc., and it includes a means of retrieving resources in the result set through linking technology.

 

Indexing

View a repository search, including advanced searching.

Learn how to rank index fields based on relevancy in the Resource Configuration section.

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988