Find Articles - LBS 3020 - Writing the Interdisciplinary Essay

Searching the Library's Article Databases

You can use an Article Database to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on your topic.

It is important to search in a selection of databases that are appropriate to the nature of your chosen topic.

Don't forget to first search in the "home" discipline of your primary source(s)...

If you're evaluating a movie, search a film or humanities database
If you're critiquing a novel or poem, search a literature database
If you're examining a historical document, search a history database, etc.

Several Cal State LA databases are interdisciplinary and include articles from cross-fields of study--social science, humanities, and natural science. These include...

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select ebooks and other materials.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles and eBooks in the humanities and social sciences.

Humanities Databases

Several databases specialize in sub-disciplines of the humanities. These include...

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, non-scholarly articles, and book reviews on the history of the U.S. and Canada from 1493.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on world history (1450 to present), excluding the U.S. and Canada. Special search functions include searching by historical time period.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles on art, film, music, world literature, philosophy, religion, and more.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in literature, language, folklore, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), linguistics, the history of publishing, and teaching in all these areas.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles and books on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.

Social Sciences Databases

Other databases specialize in sub-disciplines of the social sciences. These include...

Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles from the American Anthropological Association's journals.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center includes peer-reviewed articles, reports, conference papers, curriculum and teaching guides, and non-scholarly articles focused on education, including early childhood to higher education, and throughout the lifespan. Includes research on cognitive psychology.
ERIC is also available via Proquest, OCLC FirstSearch, and at ERIC website with access to full text documents from 1993-present. ERIC consists of two files:
- CIJE - Current Index to Journals in Education which indexes over 750 professional journals - all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an EJ (Eric journal).
- RIE - Resources in Education which indexes a variety of documents; all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an ED (Eric document). OCLC provides access to online full-text ED records via subscription links to EDRS Not all ED documents are available online. Inclusion depends on the authors original copyright agreement with EDRS. Typically 80% of ED documents permit online full-text usage. HINT: on OCLC look for the EDRS link at the bottom of the detailed record.
A variety of help options are available:
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Current and historical news from the 1980s to current. News sources cover the culture and history of ethnic and minority issues, including minority and native press publications, in a variety of languages.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary collection that supports women's studies, gender studies, LGBTQ studies, and family studies. Includes peer-reviewed articles; non-scholarly popular articles such as newspapers and magazines; dissertations and theses; reports, trade publications, and conference proceedings.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The core psychology database, with peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on all aspects of human psychology.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Includes citations to books, conference papers, and other types of sources.