Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

LBS 3020 - Writing the Interdisciplinary Essay

Research Strategies and Locations for Finding Scholarly Sources Diagram

Research Strategies to use in different locations. 1. Chasing a citation: references or cited references, and times cited or cited by. 2. Keyword searching: -AND, OR, * .   Three locations to find scholarly sources: 1. OneSearch - includes articles, books, DVDs, historical, current, multidisciplinary. DOES NOT INCLUDE ALL LIBRARY DATABASES! 2. Google Scholar - includes current, historical, interdisciplinary. 3. Individual databases. for example: JSTOR for historical and interdisciplinary. Humanities Full Text for current, literature, flim, art, philosophy, religion, etc. And Project Muse for current, social sciences, humanities.

Sample Citation to Chase

 

Race, Racism, and Darwinism

Jeynes, William H
Education and Urban Society, September 2011, Vol.43(5), pp.535-559

 

 

Chasing Citations

Some databases will allow you to access a version of the reference list for an article with links to check other databases for the full text.  This will bring you backwards in time as it will bring you to works the author/s consulted when writing the article. This list is called 1) cited references or references.

 

Some databases will give you a list of other articles/authors that have cited an article with links to check other databases for the full text.  This list will bring you forwards in time as it will show you other works that were published after the article was written.  This list is called 2) times cited or cited by.

 

 Screenshot displaying the abstract and reference information for an article titled "Race, Language, and Mental Evolution in Darwin's Descent of Man." Below the Abstract is a field labeled "Citing Literature" which lists the number of times the article has been cited by other scholars along with bibliographic information of those references. To the right of the abstract is a row of four icons, one of which is labeled "References." Selecting this brings up the references used by the author of the article "Race, Language, and Mental Evolution..."

Finding Resources From a Citation

Look at the references/ works cited page at the end of an article or book chapter to find resources that the author used to write that article or book.

 

If there is a link to Google Scholar, CrossRef, etc. click on that link to access the full text.  If you are working from a print list of references or a list that is online but not linked up, use the following instructions to find the resource from a citation.

 A screenshot of information for an article titled "Race, Racism, and Darwinism." Below the abstract are keywords used to describe the article, under which are additional references. Each reference has links below to where they may be found. These links may be to Google Scholar, Crossref, or the "Find It" button to locate them on the library databases.

 

 

 

 

 

Finding a Resource from a Citation: Books

 

Citations for books will generally list the place of publication and publisher distinguishing them from other types of resources.    

To find a book, try an advanced search in One Search using the title of the book or a title search in WorldCat.

 

EXAMPLE:               

Hinsley, C.M., Jr. ( 1981). Savages and scientists: The Smithsonian Institution and the development of American anthropology, 1846-1910. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press.

 

ADVANCED SEARCH IN ONE SEARCH:

A screenshot of the OneSearch advanced search field. the title "Savages and Scientists: The Smithsonian Institution and the Development of American..." has been typed into the first search box. A drop down menu to the left of the search box reads "Title" to signify the phrases typed in will be searched as a title.

 

Finding a Resource From a Citation: Articles

 

Citations for articles will generally list the year, volume, issue, and page numbers.

To find the full text of an article, start at the library homepage, click on the Google Scholar tab and copy and paste the citation information into the search box.  You can also try a basic search in One Search using the author's last name and a couple of words from the article title.

 

EXAMPLE:  

Shields, S. A., & Bhatia, S. (2009). Darwin on race, gender, and culture. American Psychologist64(2), 111-119. doi:10.1037/a0013502

One Search for Finding Books and Scholarly Articles

Use One Search to see what scholarly articles (and books) we have on your topic. 

  • Start by signing in in the top right-hand corner of the page
  • Click on books or articles under resource type to refine your search.
  • Click on specific subjects to see what resources we have about that subject.
  • Change the publication date to 1990 and later.    
  • You can also request books (that we don't own) be sent to Cal State LA from other libraries using CSU+ or interlibrary loan.
  • You can request articles that we don't have access to using interlibrary loan.

 

 

 

Screenshot of search results on OneSearch. On the left of the results there is a navigation column labeled "Refine my Results" where you can add limiters to your search such as: limit to books or peer reviewed articles, limit by subject, and limit by publication date range.

Search Individual Library Databases for Scholarly Articles

If you need to locate scholarly sources about Charles Darwin's The Descent of Man, start by considering the work's influence on history and culture through a humanities lens, not a scientific one.

The following 
databases will be most useful for this research task: 

JSTOR

Humanities Full Text

Project Muse

 

To open any of these databases, click on the link for the database, type in your portal login (if you're working off-campus), and then begin an Advanced Search! 

Google Scholar

Access the Google Scholar via the link on the Cal State LA Library's Homepage 

  

 

Screenshot displaying navigation to google scholars advanced search. in the top ribbon the first item is a button that opens a dropdown menu. At the bottom of this menu is a button for "Advanced Search." Clicking this will bring up a menu with various fields such as "with all of the words," "with the exact phrase," "without the words," as well as an option to specify publication date range.

Viewing Results in Google Scholar

Screenshot of Google Scholar results page layout. To the right of some results there may be a link indicating that the article is available electronically through the library databases. This links to the library website to access the full text of the article.  Below results may have a variety of different hyperlinks. One example is "Library Search" which searches for the book in WorldCat and will link to the Cal State LA catalog. Another example is "Resources @ CSULA Library which indicates that the article is not available electronically through the library databases but may be available in print. This links to the library catalog and Interlibrary Loan. A third example is a "Cite" link which will generate a citation for that article. In the menu this link brings up, you can select from MLA, APA, Chicago, etc. There is also an option to import the citation for that article into RefWorks.

Finding Journal Information Using Ulrich's Web- Download the Journal Description

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988