Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

LBS 3020 - Writing the Interdisciplinary Essay

Chasing Citations

Some databases will allow you to access a version of the reference list for an article with links to check other databases for the full text.  This will bring you backwards in time as it will bring you to works the author/s consulted when writing the article. This list is called 1) cited references or references.

 

Some databases will give you a list of other articles/authors that have cited an article with links to check other databases for the full text.  This list will bring you forwards in time as it will show you other works that were published after the article was written.  This list is called 2) times cited or cited by.

 

 Screenshot displaying the abstract and reference information for an article titled "Race, Language, and Mental Evolution in Darwin's Descent of Man." Below the Abstract is a field labeled "Citing Literature" which lists the number of times the article has been cited by other scholars along with bibliographic information of those references. To the right of the abstract is a row of four icons, one of which is labeled "References." Selecting this brings up the references used by the author of the article "Race, Language, and Mental Evolution..."

Finding Resources From a Citation

Look at the references/ works cited page at the end of an article or book chapter to find resources that the author used to write that article or book.

 

If there is a link to Google Scholar, CrossRef, etc. click on that link to access the full text.  If you are working from a print list of references or a list that is online but not linked up, use the following instructions to find the resource from a citation.

 A screenshot of information for an article titled "Race, Racism, and Darwinism." Below the abstract are keywords used to describe the article, under which are additional references. Each reference has links below to where they may be found. These links may be to Google Scholar, Crossref, or the "Find It" button to locate them on the library databases.

 

 

 

 

 

Finding a Resource from a Citation: Books

 

Citations for books will generally list the place of publication and publisher distinguishing them from other types of resources.    

To find a book, try an advanced search in One Search using the title of the book or a title search in WorldCat.

 

EXAMPLE:               

Hinsley, C.M., Jr. ( 1981). Savages and scientists: The Smithsonian Institution and the development of American anthropology, 1846-1910. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press.

 

ADVANCED SEARCH IN ONE SEARCH:

A screenshot of the OneSearch advanced search field. the title "Savages and Scientists: The Smithsonian Institution and the Development of American..." has been typed into the first search box. A drop down menu to the left of the search box reads "Title" to signify the phrases typed in will be searched as a title.

 

Finding a Resource From a Citation: Articles

 

Citations for articles will generally list the year, volume, issue, and page numbers.

To find the full text of an article, start at the library homepage, click on the Google Scholar tab and copy and paste the citation information into the search box.  You can also try a basic search in One Search using the author's last name and a couple of words from the article title.

 

EXAMPLE:  

Shields, S. A., & Bhatia, S. (2009). Darwin on race, gender, and culture. American Psychologist64(2), 111-119. doi:10.1037/a0013502

Cited by in Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar will give you a list of other articles/ books /authors that have cited a book or article with links to check other databases for the full text.  

 

This list will bring you forwards in time as it will show you other works that were published after the article or book was written. 

 

In Google Scholar, click on the cited by below the citation for a resource to view this list of related resources.

Darwin Citations to Chase

Colonization by Means of Analogy

Peterfreund, Stuart
Configurations: A Journal of Literature, Science, and Technology, 1994 Spring, Vol.2(2), pp.237-255

 

Charles Darwin on human evolution

Ruse, Michael
Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization, 2009, Vol.71(1), pp.10-19

 

Race, Racism, and Darwinism

Jeynes, William H
Education and Urban Society, September 2011, Vol.43(5), pp.535-559

 

Darwin on Race, Gender, Culture

Shields, Stephanie A. ; Bhatia, Sunil
American Psychologist, 2009, Vol.64(2), pp.111-119
 

Race, language, and mental evolution in Darwin

Alter, Stephen G.
Journal of the History of the Behavioral Sciences, June 2007, Vol.43(3), pp.239-255

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Sarah Baker
Contact:
Please e-mail me with questions.
E-mail: sbaker6@calstatela.edu
John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988