LibGuides: ENGL 4880 Children's Literature: Find Articles

About Databases

Databases are extremely useful tools for finding peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as scholarly essays and chapters in eBooks.

Not sure which database to use?

Try a key database (below)
Search in OneSearch, and pay attention to which databases it links you to. If one database keeps showing up for your searches (e.g., JSTOR), try searching it directly.
Read the database titles and descriptions. Most are specific to material type (e.g., articles, chapters), disciplines (e.g., Literature) or broad areas (e.g., Humanities).
Ask your Librarian (email is best) or Professor!

Search Strategies for English Majors A 2-page PDF that provides search tips for English Majors.

Key Databases for Children's Literature

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in literature, language, folklore, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), linguistics, the history of publishing, and teaching in all these areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select ebooks and other materials.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles and eBooks in the humanities and social sciences.
Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses on topics such as cataloging, censorship, electronic resources, publishing, and more.

Broad Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great starting place for any research topic. Includes a wealth of peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on a wide range of topics and disciplinary areas.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles on art, film, music, world literature, philosophy, religion, and more.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Gale Literature including Resource Center, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism and LitFinder. The database brings together these literary databases allowing searching across these resources.
- Contemporary Authors Online
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Literature Criticism Online

Pedagogy & Teaching

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles in the fields of education administration, teaching methods, literacy, funding, and more.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles about teaching and education. Topics covered include assessment, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, literacy standards, pedagogical research, school administration, and more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center includes peer-reviewed articles, reports, conference papers, curriculum and teaching guides, and non-scholarly articles focused on education, including early childhood to higher education, and throughout the lifespan. Includes research on cognitive psychology.
ERIC is also available via Proquest, OCLC FirstSearch, and at ERIC website with access to full text documents from 1993-present. ERIC consists of two files:
- CIJE - Current Index to Journals in Education which indexes over 750 professional journals - all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an EJ (Eric journal).
- RIE - Resources in Education which indexes a variety of documents; all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an ED (Eric document). OCLC provides access to online full-text ED records via subscription links to EDRS Not all ED documents are available online. Inclusion depends on the authors original copyright agreement with EDRS. Typically 80% of ED documents permit online full-text usage. HINT: on OCLC look for the EDRS link at the bottom of the detailed record.
A variety of help options are available:
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, non-scholarly articles, and reports. Covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, including topics of administration, funding, and policy.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in linguistics and its various sub-disciplines. It also includes summaries of monographs, recent books, technical reports, and more.

Curriculum, Instruction, Applied and Advanced Studies in Education
by Kimberly Franklin Last Updated Oct 22, 2024 658 views this year

Is this Journal Peer-Reviewed?

Peer-review means the journal publishes articles that have been reviewed by 3-5 experts over the course of 3-9 months.

Click the journal title in a database and look for information about peer review.
If you cannot find information about the journal through the database, try looking up the journal through the resources below.
Google search the journal and look at the Editorial guidelines, which should always specify the peer review process.

Ulrich's Web This link opens in a new window
A directory that provides detailed information on a wide range of publications, including academic journals, open-access publications, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world. It covers all subjects and is a good tool for determining the type of content, such as if it's peer-reviewed.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Information on peer-reviewed journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. No Full Text.

Journal Search
Search the Cal State LA Library for a Journal by name.