Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas including literature and literary theory.
Credo Reference is an ideal starting point for research with curated, authoritative reference sources that provide a firm foundation for understanding a topic.
Provides access to Gale Literature including Resource Center, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism and LitFinder. The database brings together these literary databases allowing searching across these resources.
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on all of the more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors Online and Contemporary Authors Online New Revision Series. Updated monthly, Contemporary Authors Online allows users to search for an author by name, title of work, nationality, date and place of birth and death, subject/genre, personal and career information, awards and honors, and more.
provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Complete Online includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. Includes definitions, meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
The world's largest searchable database of Middle English (medieval) language and usage for the period 1100-1500.
Chronologies
Norton Timeline of Western LiteratureProvides a basic timeline of historical events and literary works created in the western world, from ancient times to the early 21st century.
Eighteenth Century (1680-1819)Timeline to situate 18th century British literature. Topics include art, politics, scientific discovery, literature, and culture of print.
