LibGuides: ENGL 4880 Children's Literature: Home

Best Bets for Scholarly Articles and Books

Onesearch
Onesearch is the Cal State LA Library's searching tool. It will browse books, ebooks, articles, media (like films) and more.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in literature, language, folklore, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), linguistics, the history of publishing, and teaching in all these areas.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Gale Literature including Resource Center, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism and LitFinder. The database brings together these literary databases allowing searching across these resources.
- Contemporary Authors Online
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Literature Criticism Online
Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses on topics such as cataloging, censorship, electronic resources, publishing, and more.

Selected Books from the Catalog

The Routledge Companion to Children's Literature by David Rudd (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780415472708
Publication Date: 2010-05-25
The Routledge Companion to Children's Literature is a vibrant and authoritative exploration of children's literature in all its manifestations. It features a series of essays written by expert contributors who provide an illuminating examination of why children's literature is the way it is. Topics covered include: the history and development of children's literature various theoretical approaches used to explore the texts, including narratological methods questions of gender and sexuality along with issues of race and ethnicity realism and fantasy as two prevailing modes of story-telling picture books, comics and graphic novels as well as 'young adult' fiction and the 'crossover' novel media adaptations and neglected areas of children's literature. The Routledge Companion to Children's Literature contains suggestions for further reading throughout plus a helpful timeline and a substantial glossary of key terms and names, both established and more cutting-edge. This is a comprehensive and up-to-date guide to an increasingly complex and popular discipline.
The Role of Translators in Children's Literature by Gillian Lathey
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780415989527
Publication Date: 2010-06-23
This book offers a historical analysis of key classical translated works for children, such as writings by Hans Christian Andersen and Grimms' tales. Translations dominate the earliest history of texts written for children in English, and stories translated from other languages have continued to shape its course to the present day. Lathey traces the role of the translator and the impact of translations on the history of English-language children's literature from the ninth century onwards. Discussions of popular texts in each era reveal fluctuations in the reception of translated children's texts, as well as instances of cultural mediation by translators and editors. Abridgement, adaptation, and alteration by translators have often been viewed in a negative light, yet a closer examination of historical translators' prefaces reveals a far more varied picture than that of faceless conduits or wilful censors. From William Caxton's dedication of his translated History of Jason to young Prince Edward in 1477 ('to thentent/he may begynne to lerne read Englissh'), to Edgar Taylor's justification of the first translation into English of Grimms' tales as a means of promoting children's imaginations in an age of reason, translators have recorded in prefaces and other writings their didactic, religious, aesthetic, financial, and even political purposes for translating children's texts.

Accessing Resources from Home

When you access library electronic resources from off-campus, you need to use one of the following methods. Using OneSearch will automatically prompt the campus Network login.

1. Campus VPN (Recommended) Setting up VPN (Virtual Private Network) on your personal computer allows students, faculty, and staff to access library resources from off-campus. Download the VPN client Once VPN is installed on your computer, you turn it on by clicking the Connect button (shown below).	2. Library Login (Default) When you are off-campus and click on library electronic resources, you will be prompted to login using the EZproxy Login screen (shown below). Login using your MyCalStateLA ID username and password. Please note: Place your MyCalStateLA ID account username (e.g. lsmith8) in the username box. Do not include @calstatela.edu as part of your username. If you don't know your MyCalStateLA password, please go to the myCalStateLA page and click on "Forgot Password." If you experience difficulty in recovering your ID username and password, please contact the ITS Help Desk at helpdesk@calstatela.edu or 323-343-6170.