Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

Curriculum & Instruction

Getting Started

When doing research for your curriculum and instruction courses there are a variety of sources available to you.  The first step is figuring out what types of sources of information you will need to use for your research, project, or lesson plan.

If you need scholarly and/or peer reviewed articles, you will want to start with a database. If you need background information, a good starting point would be a subject encyclopedia. 

If you need help figuring out where to begin you can always contact me.

 

Useful e-Books

Access the following e-Books about counseling, school psychology, or special education by clicking on their titles below.

Electronic Reference Sources

Online encyclopedias are a good starting point for research.

Print Reference Sources

There are many print reference sources that are also good starting points for research. The following are shelved in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Library North.

Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies, LB2806.15 .E48 2010,  2 vol.

Praeger Handbook of Urban Education, LC5131 .P7 2006, 2 vol. 

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education, LC5131 .P7 2006, 3 vol.

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education,  LC3707 .E523 2008, 2 vol.

Encyclopedia of Education Law, KF4117 .E53 2008, 2 vol.

Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the United States, LC2669 .P73 2007, 2 vol.

Encyclopedia of American Education, LB 17 U54 2007, 2 vol.

Early Childhoold Education: An International Encyclopedia, LB1139.23 .E272 2007, 3 vol.

 

Education Librarian

Kimberly Franklin's picture
Kimberly Franklin
Contact:
Kimberly Y. Franklin, PhD
Education Librarian

University Library
California State University, Los Angeles

Fall 2020 office hours:
Tuesday, 11am-12pm; Wednesday, 1pm-2pm, and other weekday times by appointment.
Please email me for a Zoom link: kfrankl@calstatela.edu
Website
Subjects:Education
John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988