ENGL 4880 Children's Literature

Project Gutenberg is a free online resource for ebooks and other materials in the public domain. Many of the older children's books for this class can be found here.

Note: This site is facing copyright law violations and may experience downtime as a result.

Open Library is an open access project, originally sponsored in part by the California State Library. It now hosts a number of out of print, lasped copyright and in copyright texts.

LAPL is the City of Los Angeles' public library system. In addition to their many public library branches, they also provide access to ebooks and streaming media through their main website.

If you live in the City of Los Angeles, you can apply for an immediate digital library card through this registration page. Access to LAPL's collections will be granted automatically.
Note: LAPL residents only

This is the LA County wide public library system. It includes ebook and streaming media access.

Apply for and receive immediate access for e-books and streaming media through this application form.
Note: LA County Residents Only

From their website, "HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world." Includes children's text that are out of copyright.

The Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature in the Department of Special Collections at the University of Florida's George A. Smathers Libraries contains more than 115,000 volumes published in the United States and Great Britain from the mid-1600s to present day. The Library also has small holdings in manuscript collections, original artwork, and assorted ephemera such as board games, puzzles, and toys. The Baldwin Library is known for comparative editions of books, with special emphasis on Robinson Crusoe, Pilgrim's Progress, Aesop's Fables, and Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. The Library also has the largest collection of Early American Juvenile Imprints of any academic institution in the United States.

From their website, "This special collection presents children’s books selected from the General and Rare Book Collections at the Library of Congress. The collection includes classic works that are still read by children today, and lesser-known treasures drawn from the Library’s extensive collection of historically significant children’s books. The books in this collection were published in the United States and England before 1924, are no longer under copyright, and free to read."

Children's section from Poetry Foundation. Established in 2003 upon receipt of a major gift from philanthropist Ruth Lilly, the Poetry Foundation evolved from the Modern Poetry Association, which was founded in 1941 to support the publication of Poetry magazine. The gift from Ruth Lilly allowed the Poetry Foundation to expand and enhance the presence of poetry in the United States and established an endowment that will fund Poetry in perpetuity.