LibGuides: Affordable Learning Solutions &amp; OER for Faculty @ Cal State LA: Free eTextbooks

Free eTextbooks

An increasing number of textbooks are available electronically online (eTextbooks) that are 100% free to use, print, or remix. You can search through collections of these open textbooks online, and then add the hyperlink for a particular book to your Learning Management site.

Open Textbook Library via the University of Minnesota - Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed.
OpenStax is a part of Rice University - Offers freely licensed, 100% free textbooks to read online or download in multiple formats, including some classroom resources as well.

Find e-Textbooks through the Library's OneSearch page.
MERLOT by California State University - The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers. A catalog of open textbook materials from various sources. To find open materials, limit the material type to "Open Textbook".
Directory of Open Access Books - It is a joint service of OAPEN, OpenEdition, CNRS, and Aix_Marseille Universite. This directory includes peer-reviewed books published under open access licenses by academic publishers.
Open SUNY Textbooks Open SUNY Textbooks is an open textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries. These faculty written textbooks fall under a Creative Commons license.
OER Commons - OER Commons is a dynamic digital library and network. Open Textbooks section offers many textbooks.
WAC Clearinghouse - The WAC Clearinghouse is an open-access, educational website supported by more than 125 contributors, institutional sponsors, and the Colorado State University Open Press as well as more than 180 volunteer editors, editorial staff members, reviewers, and editorial board members.

e-Books at the University Library

eBook Central ProQuest This link opens in a new window
eBooks on a wide variety of topics.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
eBooks on a wide variety of topics.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection.
O'Reilly Online Learning eBooks This link opens in a new window
eBooks, case studies, interactive tutorials, and audiobooks on business and technology. Subjects include problem-solving and leadership, customer service, employee performance, art and design technique, IT certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linux/Unix, Web development, Windows, and XML, as well as big data, artificial intelligence, and gaming.
O'Reilly Online Learning includes many personalization features, so an individual account is needed to access. Follow the steps below to create or log into your O'Reilly Online Learning account.
First-Time User
1. Choose “Institution not listed?” under the “Select your institution” dropdown menu.
2. Enter your Cal State LA email address and click “Let's Go.” This will trigger a verification email to be sent to the email address you input.
3. Follow the steps in the verification email to choose a password and create your account. You can then log into O'Reilly Learning from any computer without having to access through the library's link.
Returning User
1. As for first-time users, choose the “Institution not listed?” option under the “Select your institution” dropdown menu.
2. Rather than entering your email address, choose the “Already a user?” link under the “Your academic email” box.
3. Enter your Cal State LA email address, click Continue, and enter the password you created in the last step of the First-Time User instructions. If you cannot remember your password, choose the “Forgot password?” link and enter your Cal State LA email address to receive a reset email.
For more information, see the O'Reilly FAQs and our O'Reilly Online Learning eBook Online Guide.
ACLS Humanities eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text eBooks in historical studies, art history, literature, political science, religion, and primary sources.
Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date engineering references and Schaum's Outlines on a variety of topics. Comprises global industry news, instructional videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, and personalization tools.
Guides
- Interactive Tools for Faculty contains distance learning guide, instructor resources, and faculty-led webinars
- Guide to sharing AccessEngineering content through durable URLs