LibGuides: Curriculum, Instruction, Applied and Advanced Studies in Education: Teaching Resources

K-12 Ethnic Studies

CA-NAME (California chapter of the National Association for Multicultural Education)
California Ethnic Studies Model Curriculum
Rethinking ethnic studies
John F Kennedy Memorial Library, GN307.85.U6 R48 2019
UCLA CenterX "Ethnic Studies K-12" Xchange issue

Rubrics

Authentic Assessment Toolbox
RubiStar
A free tool to help teachers create quality rubrics.
MERLOT Materials
Assessment materials (including rubrics) K-12 to higher ed.

Literacy apps and websites

Lesson plan websites

BrainPOP
Creates animated, curriculum-based content.
Colorín Colorado Resource Library
A bilingual site for families and educators of English language learners.
Education World
Provides assistance to all educators, particularly K-12 instructors. Includes subject links and weekly features.
Eduref.Org
Provides access to lesson plans.
The Getty: Resources for K - 12 Teachers and Students
The education portion of this website includes planning a school visit, teacher programs and resources, lesson plans, fun online games for children, and more.
International Society for Technology in Education
Nonprofit professional organization that promotes appropriate uses of information technology to support and improve teaching, learning, and administration in K-12 education and teacher education. It is the home of the National Educational Technology Standards (NETS) Project and the National Center for Preparing Tomorrow's Teachers to Use Technology (NCPT3).
LAUSD Teacher Resources
Instructional resources and curriculum maps TK-12
PBS For California Educators
Offers curriculum resources for teachers and educators. Includes 3,500 lesson plans and activities arranged by subject categories, and then by grade levels, and much more.
Reading is Fundamental
The largest children’s literacy nonprofit in the US. RIF's highest priority is reaching underserved children from birth to age 8.
ReadWriteThink
Includes K - 12 standards-based lesson plans that are research-based and include detailed instructional plans. The lessons are written for the teacher but include student-ready materials such as worksheets, interactives, and reviewed Web resources.
Smithsonian Learning Lab
Includes lesson plans, online resources, and other teaching materials.
Starfall
A free public service to teach children to read with phonics. Our systematic phonics approach, in conjunction with phonemic awareness practice, is perfect for preschool, kindergarten, first grade, second grade, special education, home school, and English language development (ELD, ELL, ESL).
Teachable Moment
Offers teaching ideas, lesson plans, essays for discussion, and suggestions for guiding young people (primarily K - 12) as they deal with social conflict in the world.
Teachers Network
A nationwide, non-profit education organization maintains this site. Includes lesson plans, daily classroom specials, and offers grants and fellowships.

Finding lesson plans in library databases

1. Search the ERIC Database – (Instructions are for searching ERIC on EBSCOHost).

In the first search box on the Advanced Search screen, type lesson plans as your search terms and select SU.
In the next search box, type in your content area e.g., social studies, and select SU.
In the Search Options below the search terms you entered:
- Educational level: select the level you desire, or leave it set to “All.”
- Journal or Document: Limit to Document (although lesson plans do appear in some journals).
- Date Published: optional.
Sort results by relevance.

2. Search Primary Search (EBSCO database). Focuses on preschool and elementary school.

In the first search box on the Advanced Search screen, type lesson planning.
In the second search box, type in the content area, such as language arts.

3. Search Mas Ultra School Edition (EBSCO database). Focuses on high school.

In the first search box on the Advanced Search screen, type lesson planning.
In the second search box type in the content area, such as mathematics.

4. Search Education Full Text (EBSCO database).

In the first search box on the Advanced Search screen, type in your content area, such as social studies.
Select Lesson Plan from the Document Type menu in the Search Options box.

Artificial Intelligence in Teaching

Generative AI for Teachers
Guide developed at Southern Illinois University Morris Library

University Library