LibGuides: Honors College and EEP Students: Find Articles

Articles Way Finding

There are a few ways to find articles. To master these techniques will help you become an effective researcher, and that will also save your time.

OneSearch

OneSearch is a good starting point for your article search. To start, go to the library web home page (library.calstatela.edu), and enter your search terms in the OneSearch box. You can narrow down your search result to just peer-reviewed articles.
If you don't find enough articles by doing this initial search, you can click "Search beyond Cal State" link on the upper left of your search result page to include articles beyond what we own. You can then request these articles to be sent over for your use via our Interlibrary Loan service.

EBSCO Articles

While OneSearch covers articles from many of our subscription databases and journal packages, some EBSCO articles are not covered. To find all articles included in our EBSCO databases, you have two options:
- From OneSearch, select Articles, select All Articles, and then select EBSCO Articles to conduct your search. See a screenshot below:
- You can also search all EBSCO databases, by selecting EBSCO Databases from the Databases list. You can access the Databases list from the library web home page.

Individual Databases

Individual databases are good for finding articles in a specific subject areas. Library databases are arranged alphabetically and by subject.
To use individual databases, using the Databases link beneath the OneSearch box from the library web home page.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly articles.
You can access Google Scholar from the library web home page. The benefit to use Google Scholar via the library Google Scholar link is that your search result page provides you direct links to full-text articles in databases subscribed by the Library.

Tracking Articles by Journal Search
You conduct a journal search when one of the following three situations happens:

When you have an article citation with a journal name
When the linking from a database or OneSearch result doesn’t work
When your professor wants you to find out journals in your disciplinary areas

Track Articles or Search for Journals by Journal Name

You conduct a journal search when one of the following three situations happens:

1. When you have an article citation with a journal name

2. When the linking from a database or OneSearch result doesn’t work

3. When your professor wants you to find out journals in your disciplinary areas

Situation 1 -- When you have an article citation with a journal name

Bolton, Herbert E. (1935). “The Black Robes of New Spain”. The Catholic Historical Review 21 (3), 257–82.

From the library web (set the library web as home page please) click on Journals link.

You can search by title or ISSN
Search for a Specific Journal Title from Citation
- Enter the journal name, such as, The Catholic Historical Review in the search box and click on Go
- Be sure to look at the results for the correct time period coverage
- Select the right database and follow the link
  - Full text available at: JSTOR Arts and Sciences V
    Available from 1915 volume: 1 issue: 1
    Most recent 6 year(s) not available
  - Full text available at: EBSCO Academic Search Complete
    Available from 1990
  - Full text available at: EBSCO Art Full Text
    Available from 1990

Situation 2 -- When the linking from a database or OneSearch result doesn’t work

Hosseini, SAA. (2012). Effect of group teaching of self-control on children's improving social skills.
International Journal of Psychology, vol. 47, suppl 1, pp. 411-411.

If the direct linking doesn't work in OneSearch result or from within a database, you can do a direct journal search using the journal title following the steps in Situation 1.

Situation 3 -- When your professor wants you to find out journals in your disciplinary areas

If you need to find a list of journals in biochemistry, follow these steps:
- In OneSearch box, enter biochemistry as keyword to do a search
- At the result page, narrow your search down to Peer-Reviewed Journals from the Facet on the left
- Move down to Journal Titles to see a list of journal on the subject for Biochemistry