Material Type

 Description     

How to Access

Books & eBooks

The Library has close 700,000 print books for circulation. These books are shelved in Library of Congress call number order as shown below.

To learn more about the Library of Congress Classification system, visit the Library of Congress Classification outline.

The Library has approximately 300,000 ebooks for online access.  You can access these ebooks by doing a search on your topic using OneSearch from the Library homepage. 
 

• Using OneSearch to enter your search term
• At search result page, limit to Books
• To search for books not owned by the Library, using the CSU Collections option from OneSearch drop down menu
• To search for books beyond CSUs, use WorldCat from the homepage
• Using CSU+ or Interlibrary Loan to request for books not owned by the Library or checked out

Electronic Resources
 

The Library’s electronic resources include scholarly/peer-reviewed reviewed journal articles, ebooks, primary sources, streaming media, data and statistic resources, and reference sources covering all subject disciplines offered at Cal State LA.  

• Find articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers, and ebooks using OneSearch 
• Or select the Databases page from the library web homepage and search individual databases directly
• To search for primary sources, streaming media, data and statistic resources, and reference sources, go directly to the Databases page and select appropriate database type to conduct your searches

Digital Repository Collections

Online collections in the Digital Repository include Faculty Publications, Special Collections & Archives material, and student Theses & Dissertations. 
 

• Go to the Digital Repository directly to conduct searches

Children's Books (aka:  The Juvenile collection)

The Library maintains a small collection of juvenile books for children and young adults. This collection is located on the 3rd floor of Library South. These books are classified in the Dewey Decimal Classification System.

• Use OneSearch and type the name of a title or author.   On the left side of the search results page, select Location = Children's Books.

Media

The Library has a physical collection of DVDs and audio CDs (located at the Service Desk, Library North, 1st floor) as well as a growing number of online media resources (streaming video and audio collections).  For more information, visit the Music & Media page.
 

• Use OneSearch and type the name of a title or author, or keywords. On the left side of the search results page, select Media under Resource Type

Reference Sources

Reference Sources
Increasingly, our collection of reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistics, etc.) are available online.  For more information, visit the Reference Sources page. 
 

• Search for reference material online, go to the Databases page, and select “Reference” under Database Types. 

Theses & Dissertations Collection

Theses & Dissertations Collection
The Library maintains copies of print Masters theses (in our Special Collections & Archives department) written by Cal State LA Graduates up to the year 2011.  Beginning in the Fall of 2011, all master's degree theses, projects, and doctoral dissertations are submitted "electronically" and available online in the CalStateLA Digital Repository.
 

• Go to the CalStateLA Digital Repository directly to search for Cal State LA theses and dissertations