Library Databases for WGSS 1010

Cal State LA Library

A-Z databases

Use one or more of the following databases to find journal articles, newspaper articles, etc. The full list of available databases/indexes can be found using the link on the library homepage. You can find a list of databases related to WGSS research by selecting Women and Gender Studies under All Subjects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides over 20,000 indexed and abstracted journals including 6,600 full-text journals and magazines, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. PDF content dating back to 1887.
To see which titles are available in full-text, as well as the names of all titles indexed and abstracted, check the EBSCOhost Database Coverage List and Title List by Subject . Updated daily.
Education Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Provides over 750 periodicals including 450 peer-reviewed journals in the fields of education administration, teaching methods, literacy, funding, and more.
Full text coverage begins in 1994, abstracting begins in 1984 and indexing begins in 1983.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides access to online full-text collection of 125 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women and gender issues.
The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's daily lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles.

Searching the New York Times and Los Angeles Times

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Formerly Newsstand, Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content with archives that stretch back into the 1980s from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text form.
Global Newsstream provides collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.

DIRECT LINKS TO MAJOR NEWSPAPERS:
Los Angeles Times (1996- current) This link opens in a new window
Southern California's largest daily newspaper. For electronic access to the historical segment of Los Angeles Time from 1881 to 1994, use Los Angeles Times (1881-1994) or Historical Los Angeles Times.
DESCRIPTION:
The Los Angeles Times is the Southern California's largest daily newspaper. CSULA has electronic access to the newspaper from 1/1/1985 to present.
The historical segment of the Los Angeles Times from 1881-1992 is available for electronic access at Historical Los Angeles Times.
The Los Angeles Times is also available at its own website: http://www.latimes.com/. One can access articles from the last week of the paper, as well as some specially selected older stories at no cost.

GUIDES:
New York Times (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
New York Times (1980-present) delivers global breaking news, 24/7 updates, and opinions in all subjects.

Finding the Full Text of an Article from a Database Search

Library databases enable you to retrieve the full-text of an article, either by clicking the full-text link or the button for the article you want.

Does the database you are searching in provide this article in PDF or HTML full-text?

If so, click on the full text link to save and/or print the full article and export the article citation to Refworks.

If not, click on to learn how to locate the article in full-text. This page will let you know if:

1. The article you are looking for is available in another database

2. If the article is not available in another database, you can submit a request to get the article from another library. Sign in to your library account in the top right hand corner of the page using your mycalstatela username and password and click on request it.

University Library

WGSS 1010- Gender and Sexuality in College

Library Databases for WGSS 1010

Cal State LA Library

A-Z databases

Searching the New York Times and Los Angeles Times

Finding the Full Text of an Article from a Database Search