The collection Module 48 documents how African American policemen in Chicago, beginning in 1968, attempted to fight against discrimination and police brutality by the Chicago Police Department and to improve relations between African Americans and police.
This database consists of a large variety of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. The two major collections on the 20th Century in this module are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and Records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.
American Periodicals Series includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home and more.
Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning the ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary-source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective—with archival collections from North America, Europe, and Asia Pacific — including field notebooks, images, and recordings of the early- to mid-20th century.
ASCE Library, including journals, proceedings, e-books and standards, and the Civil Engineering Magazine Archive, provides the most respected and richest collection of civil engineering content. With 145,000 technical and professional articles, ASCE Library is the premier information clearinghouse for both researchers and practitioners in the field of civil engineering.
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) had the first black White House correspondent and was the first black daily in the nation in the 20th century. Atlanta Daily World is one of the ten ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection delivers hundreds of dramatic works in streaming audio. The plays—which include dramatic literature of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries—are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) was the most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
This primary source collection details the work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves.
Black Drama contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.
The Organizational Records and Personal Papers bring a new perspective to the Black Freedom Struggle via the records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle.
This newest Black Freedom module includes the records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, and the Robert F. Williams Papers. SNCC, formed by student activists in 1960 after the explosion of the sit-in movement, was one of the three most important civil rights organizations of the 1960s, alongside SCLC and the NAACP.
With the addition of SNCC records, History Vault now includes SNCC, SCLC, and NAACP records. Rounding out this module are the papers of Chicago Congressman Arthur W. Mitchell, the Chicago chapter of the Congress of Racial Equality, and records pertaining to the Mississippi Freedom Summer.
Black Thought and Culture is a collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
Border and Migration Studies Online provides historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more.
Contemporary World Drama examines theatre and drama from a global context, bringing together new work from established and up-and-coming contemporary playwrights from around the world, including recently produced world premieres and previously unpublished works from every continent.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Volumes I and II, is an online series that lets students and researchers peer deeply into the client-therapist relationship and follow the progress—and the setbacks—of clients across multiple therapy sessions. Volume I lays an important foundation for clinical work with clients.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Volumes I and II, is an online series that lets students and researchers peer deeply into the client-therapist relationship and follow the progress—and the setbacks—of clients across multiple therapy sessions. Volume II builds on the foundation of the inaugural edition with nearly 2,000 new transcripts of actual therapy sessions.
Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material that dissolve the distance between archive and scholar and draw dance students into the library.
The collection covers a wide range of educational topics, from general titles, to subject-specific publications, titles aimed at educational leaders, and material devoted to women and ethnic minorities in education. Many education sectors are represented, from early learning to higher education, vocational education, independent schools and distance learning.
Environmental Studies is a multidisciplinary field, where solutions to real-world issues lie at the intersections of the social sciences, the biological and earth sciences, the humanities, legal studies, and policy. This database uses text, archival primary sources, and video to address major past and ongoing environmental issues.
The Harper’s Bazaar Archive includes the complete runs of the US and UK editions of Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present (US edition) and 1929-2015 (UK edition), fully indexed and searchable. This full color collection of approximately 500,000 pages provides a powerful lens into American, British, and international fashion, society, and popular culture from the mid-19th century forward.
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide. The collection is growing to include 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video that give voice to the victims of human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries.
This module covers the investigations made by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the massive immigration wave of 1880-1930. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration.
Instructions for Faculty/Staff:
JoVE recommends that all faculty/staff create an account using your MyCalStateLA portal email account and select your role so that you can have:
• Embed videos in their LMS
• Create quizzes for Education content
• Save their favorite videos to return to later
Latin American Drama includes plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. The collection supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigration issues, and political history. Although the collection includes materials from the 19th century, the vast majority of works are from the period spanning the Chicano Renaissance to present day.
The archives of twenty-six magazines are included in LGBT Magazine Archive. The complete backfile of The Advocate is made available digitally for the first time. The oldest surviving continuously published US title of its type (having launched in 1967), it is the periodical of record for information about the LGBT community; it has charted the key developments in LGBT history and culture for over 50 years.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection contains 150,000 pages of rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.
Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. The letters and diaries reveal, in each woman’s own hand, the details of the authors’ daily lives, their activities and concerns, and their attitudes towards the people and world around them.
This database consists of the Collections of Margaret Sanger's personal papers and records of the birth control movement. Beginning in 1946 and continuing until her death in 1966, Sanger contributed to the Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College, in Northampton, Massachusetts, a historic trove of documents related to birth control, women's rights, suffrage, feminism, reform and social work, arts, and middle-class family life
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies is a database curated by an international board of advisors and part of the Global Issues Library. Organized around a selection of key historical and contemporary events and mixing a case and thematic approach, this resource will look at the history of incarceration not only in the United States but also globally.
The National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to streaming video of productions and archival material offering insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages including: autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. Fifty-four volumes, representing 15,000 pages, are from the 18th and 19th centuries alone.
Performance Design Archive Online covers theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including, scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, makeup, and more. Features 100,000 pages of primary and secondary resources, including sketches, photographs, technical drawings, monographs, articles, and dissertations.
Pivot provides access to the most comprehensive global source of funding opportunities—totaling billions of dollars and updated daily. It allows faculty, staff researchers, graduate students, and research administrators to easily identify funding opportunities, and connect the right funding opportunities with the right people.
First Time User, Please Register before Accessing
Following the steps below to register for your Pivot account (Cal State LA students/faculty/staff only):
If you are a new user of Pivot, first you need to register for a user ID and password using the Sign Up link. Please make sure to select the “Use Email Address/Create Password” option and use your Cal State LA email address to register. Please remember to keep your credentials saved for future use.
Psychological Experiments Online synthesizes psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries. The collection pairs 65 hours of audio and video recordings of the original experiments (when existent) with 45,000 pages of primary-source documents.
Revolution and Protest Online examines how revolutions, protests, resistance, and social movements have shaped and transformed the human experience globally from the 18th to 21st century. Content includes: 175 hours of video, including documentaries, original footage, and personal accounts, 50,000 pages of primary sources and archival collections.
The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection offers high-definition recordings of The Bard’s dramatic canon, featuring the world’s best Shakespearean actors and directors. The collection will add new Royal Shakespeare Company productions as they are filmed, as the RSC works through Shakespeare’s canon.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering scientific journals, books, conference proceedings, datasets, and funding data. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts, and humanities. Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
The Scopus Information site contains a wealth of resources including:
• User guides and tips
• Title lists
• Quick tips and Frequently Asked Questions
Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries presents collections in the documentary record of American slavery, focusing on the industrial uses of slave labor. The materials selected include company records; business and personal correspondence; documents pertaining to the purchase, hire, medical care, and provisioning of slave laborers; descriptions of production processes; and journals recounting costs and income.
The collection provides primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Iran (1940s to the Present), 1960 U-2 Incident, World War II and Intelligence, Cold War: The Bay of Pigs, and the Cuban Missile Crisis, 1961-1962, and more.
The SpingerLink eBook Collection contains over 40,000 ebook titles and a range of subjects are represented. These subjects include behavioral science and psychology, biomedical and life sciences, business and management, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, economics and finance, education, energy, engineering, history, intelligent technologies and robotics, law and criminology, literature, cultural and media studies, mathematics and statistics, medicine, philosophy and religion, physics and astronomy, political science and international studies, professional and applied computing, and social sciences.
All ebooks are unlimited access, can be downloaded, and printed.
MyCopy is the Print-on-Demand eBooks feature offered to our students and faculty. You can order a print copy of any non-reference ebook titles that we have access to for $24.99 including shipping and handling.
Twentieth-Century North American Drama: Second Edition contains 2,050+ plays from the United States and Canada. Study events of the twentieth century—including the Depression, the role of women, the Cold War, and more—through the plays and performances of writers who lived through these decades.
Volume I covers major works from North America and Europe, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1950s and continuing through to modern sequential artists. It incorporates 75,000 pages of material from various artists. Volume II offers an additional 100,000 pages of important, rare, and hard-to-find works, scholarly writings, and more.
Wiley eBooks contains access to over 22,000 ebook titles covering all disciplines including scholarly and professional books, handbooks, dictionaries, companions, and book series. All books are full-text searchable and downloadable.
Women’s Magazine Archive provides access to the backfiles of the foremost titles of leading women's interest consumer magazines, including, such as Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Woman’s Day, Parents, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan, and Essence. Topics covered in these collections include family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and more.