LibGuides: Japanese: Find Articles

Databases @ Cal State LA

OneSearch does not allow you to search for all articles available at Cal State LA. Databases are very useful tools that allow you to search by subject. Search the databases recommended below to find articles.

Tips for Using Databases
2-page PDF on how to use a few of the databases linked below.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes articles in literature, language, folklore, and linguistics - over 4,000 U.S. and international journals.
Coverage: 1880s to present

The MLA Bibliography contains detailed bibliographic information on scholarly publications from around the world and across a broad range of topics, including
- Literature from any country and in any language
- Literary theory and criticism
- Dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater)
- Folklore
- Linguistics
- College-level teaching of language, literature, and rhetoric and composition
- History of printing and publishing
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Offers interdisciplinary content including approximately 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Provide access to full-text scholarly journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences with over 120 publishers currently participating.
View the List of Journals Covered
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Provides over 20,000 indexed and abstracted journals including 6,600 full-text journals and magazines, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. PDF content dating back to 1887.
To see which titles are available in full-text, as well as the names of all titles indexed and abstracted, check the EBSCOhost Database Coverage List and Title List by Subject . Updated daily.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window Coves the field of linguistics and its various sub-disciplines, LLBA primarily abstracts articles from approximately 2,600 periodicals published worldwide. It also abstracts monographs, recent books, technical reports and more.
Subjects Covered
- Anthropological Linguistics
- Applied Linguistics
- Descriptive Linguistics
- Discourse Analysis / Text Linguistics
- Hearing and Speech Physiology
- Hearing - Pathological and Normal
- History of Linguistics
- Interpersonal Behavior and Communication
- Language Classification
- Language - Pathological and Normal
- Learning Disabilities
- Lexicography / Lexicology
- Mental Retardation
- Morphology
- Nonverbal Communication
- Orthography, Writing Systems
- Philosophy of Language
- Phonetics
- Phonology
- Poetics / Literary Theory
- Psycholinguistics
- Psychometrics
- Semantics
- Semiotics
- Sociolinguistics
- Special Education
- Syntax
- Theory of Linguistics
- Typology
Guides:
- IDS Search Help: Overview
- LLBA Fact Sheet

Full A-Z List of Databases The databases above are essential, but Cal State LA Library has many more. View the full list of databases by clicking this link.

External Databases

CiNii (full texts and citations)

Find articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.

J-STAGE (full texts)

Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic. Full text database for humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and, Engineering and technology. When you use advanced search, you can save favorite search, titles and titles. You can also search articles by DOI.

JAIRO (Japanese Institutional Repositories Online) (full-texts and citations)

A source for academic information (journal articles, theses or dissertations, departmental bulletin papers, research papers, etc.) accumulated in Japanese institutional repositories* that can be searched for cross-sectionally.

Bibliography of Oriental Studies

Contains data on oriental literature from the 1934 edition to the 1980 edition and from the 2001 edition onwards (including unpublished data)

National Literature Research

Information on research papers on Japanese literature, linguistics, and Japanese language education, etc., contained in journal bulletins published in Japan held at the National Literature Research Museum.

NDL Search

Academic and popular magazines. Search the index of magazine/journal articles held at National Diet Library.

International Research Center for Japanese Studies

Some documents in the Nichibunken Library may be used via the Nichibunken website, as follows:
Databases http://db.nichibun.ac.jp/pc1/en/
Publications available on open access http://publications.nichibun.ac.jp/pc1/en/
Nichibunken Repository https://nichibun.repo.nii.ac.jp/

Other University Research Guides in Japanese Studies

University of Pittsburg - Japanese Studies
Very thorough research guide offering dozens of open access databases to search for news, scholarly journals and articles, ebooks, primary sources, and more.

Interlibrary Loan & iLLiad

How to Order Items for Free

If Cal State LA does not have an article or book chapter, or if you are unable to access the physical copy, you can request an electronic copy through iLLiad. iLLiad is part of our Interlibrary Loan service.

Interlibrary Loan =

CSU Collections (aka CSU+): Delivers physical books and dvds from other CSUs for free.
iLLiad: Request electronic versions of articles and book chapters for free! (never pay for an article). If CSU+ does not have a book you need, you can also use iLLiad to request a book delivery from a non-CSU University.

The iLLiad sign-on screen is pictured below. First-time users will need to register.

Once you are signed in, you may see an auto-populated form ready to submit (if you came to iLLiad from a "request this article" link). Otherwise, you need to fill out a form to submit a "New Request" (see image below).

You may request any number of articles, and up to 2 book chapters per book (due to copyright). If you would like two book chapters from the same book scanned and emailed to you, complete one form per book chapter.

iLLiad Video Tutorial

GoogleScholar

GoogleScholar searches the entire web for scholarly materials.

Downside of using Google Scholar:

There is no way to search for only peer-reviewed articles in academic journals.
It lists unpublished works, such as dissertations or theses, without a way to filter them out.
You will get millions of results organized by popularity (highest cited).

Upsides of using Google Scholar:

You can easily search for an article by title.
You can press the "cited by" button to find similar articles and to see who else has cited the article.
Google Scholar can recognize you as a Cal State LA student so you have better access to articles (see below)

How to get Google Scholar to recognize you are a Cal State LA Student:

If Google Scholar knows you are a Cal State LA student, you will see "Find it @ Cal State LA" links, pictured below.

If you are on-campus, access Google Scholar from the library home page to ensure you are connected to Cal State LA's articles.

If you are off-campus, access Google Scholar from the library home page. If you do not go through the library homepage, make sure you add Cal State LA to your institutions:

University Library

Japanese