The Original Modern Reader's Japanese-English Character Dictionary by
"The Japanese government may someday recognize-- as it ought to--Tuttle's contribution to creating an intelligent interest in Japan among the English-reading public, and deepening understanding of Japanese overseas."--Hokubei Mainichi (San Francisco) Awarded the 1969 Prize for the Society of the Promotion of International Cultural Relations, this is the most comprehensive Japanese book of its kind. Containing Japanese-English and English-Japanese sections, it is an essential reference tool for serious students studying the Japanese language or for business people and tourists wishing to learn Japanese before they travel. Special features include: Lists over 5,000 carefully selected characters with their 10,000+ current readings and almost 70,000 compounds in current use, al with concise English definitions. Scientifically arranged by a logical extension of the traditional radical system so as to make the finding of a given character almost fool-proof, saving hours of time. Makes provision for quickly finding characters either in their traditional or their modern and often greatly altered forms, thus serving for both prewar and postwar literature. Includes 14 valuable appendices giving (1) instructions for the most efficient use of the book, (2) discussions of the written language in general and particularly of its recent and far-reaching official modifications, and (3) much helpful
Tuttle Mini Japanese Dictionary by
This is a completely up-to-date Japanese mini dictionary. Tuttle Mini Japanese Dictionary is ideal for any application where a handy and portable dictionary is required. Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to Japan who wish to learn Japanese prior to their trip or as a Japanese language study reference. Mini Japanese Dictionary is an essential tool for communicating in Japanese. It's useful pocket-sized format and easy-to read type will make translating Japanese much easier. In addition to being an excellent English to Japanese dictionary and Japanese to English dictionary Mini Japanese Dictionary contains important notes on the Japanese language, Japanese grammar and Japanese pronunciation. All Japanese words are written in a Romanized form as well as Japanese script (kanji and kana) so that in the case of difficulties the book can simply be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. This mini dictionary contains the following essential features: Bidirectional Japanese-English and English-Japanese. Over 13,000 essential Japanese words, as well as useful Japanese expressions and idioms. Headwords printed in blue for quick and easy reference. A basic overview of Japanese grammar and pronunciation. All the latest Japanese social media and computer terms.
Historical Dictionary of Shinto by
Journalist Ed Gilbreath writes:From time to time, prophetic Christian voices rise in timbre to challenge our nation's "original sin." Martin Luther King Jr.'s voice and historic efforts as the Moses of America's civil rights movement stand out as perhaps the most significant instance of a modern Christian leader acting in a prophetic role to instigate social change. This year marks the fiftieth anniversary of the "Letter from Birmingham Jail." This ebook is offered as tribute to Martin Luther King Jr.'s life and especially to the events surrounding the writing of his masterful letter, a work that still calls us to accountability five decades later.
Japanese for Travelers Phrasebook and Dictionary by
This travel-sized 4 x 7 inch book is a combination Japanese phrasebook, Japanese travel guide and Japanese etiquette guide. Packed with expressions and information for every travel situation,Japanese for Travelers Phrasebook & Dictionary helps you to get around and communicate more effectively during your time in Japan. This book includes hundreds of tips and phrases for the following situations: Meeting people Asking directions Shopping and asking about prices Ordering food and drinks Getting connected to the Internet Taking a subway, bus or taxi Asking for help Daily conversations Helpful illustrations demystify Japan's complicated rail system and provide handy information on ferry travel as well. The text offers tips on where to look for a cheap, comfortable night's sleep (you'd be surprised), to whom not to stand behind when in line at customs, as well as essential things to purchase for your Japan trip before you leave your home country and how to say you do not eatfugu (poisonous pufferfish!). About this new, updated edition: New manga illustrations New phrases for technology, checking in for a flight, baggage claim and more! Japanese script and Romaji have been added for all phrases Suggestions for downloading useful apps to make travel around Japan easier
A Dictionary of Japanese Food by
Nominated for the Glenfiddich Food Book of the Year Award, this timeless volume is the first and only book of its kind on the subject. A Dictionary of Japanese Food helps food lovers around the world decipher the intricacies and nuances of Japanese cooking and its ingredients. Definitions in ordinary cookbooks and standard dictionaries--such as akebia forakebi, sea cucumber fornamako, plum forume--can be inadequate, misleading, or just plain wrong. Richard Hoskings eliminates the mystery by ensuring that each entry in the Japanese-English section includes the Japanese term in Roman script; the word in kana or kanji or both; a Latin name where appropriate; an English definition; and, for most entries, a short annotation. The English-Japanese section defines relevant English food terms in Japanese and annotates those needing explanation. One hundred small line drawings make it easy for readers to identify everything frommitsuba to theokoze fish, and seventeen appendices address the most critical elements of Japanese cuisine, from the making ofmiso and the structure of the Japanese meal to the tea ceremony. Newly typeset and featuring a fascinating and informative new foreword by Japanese cookbook author Debra Samuel,A Dictionary of Japanese Food will continue to help both food lovers, and visitors to Japan discover the wonders of one of the world's great cuisines.