OneSearch: The Library Discovery Tool

The Library subscribes to over 1,000 newspapers including all major newspapers and local papers in the U.S., and internationally.  You can find a list of newspaper databases using this link.  These newspapers including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, etc., and state and local papers, as well as international papers, such as the Globe and Mail (Canada). Many international newspapers are covered by the country's native languages. 

Almost all newspaper articles in these newspaper databases are searchable using OneSearch.  

There are two ways to search for newspaper articles using OneSearch.    

1. From Search Results

• From any of your search result page, on the left panel where you can refine your search results, you can click the Newspaper Search link under Resource Type or at the bottom of your search result page.

• You can then see the newspaper search result on the topic you searched.  From here, on the left of your result page, you can further narrow your search down by a specific database under the Databases or by a specific newspaper by Journal Title. 
  
  

2. From Newspaper Search Module

• If you want to search for newspaper articles directly, you need to go to the OneSearch interface:
  •   From the Library homepage, click Advanced Search on the right side of the OneSearch box, then select Newspaper Search on the  
      top of the page as shown below.
  •   Or, you can select the Newspaper Search from any of your OneSearch result page.

There two ways you can find newspaper articles by specific paper.

1. From OneSearch Newspaper Search Result Page

• On the newspaper search result page, you can click Journal Titles to get a list of newspapers for your searched topic as shown below.
• You can then select any paper you want to narrow down or view articles within that paper
  

2. From Database A-Z List Newspapers & Magazines List 

• To see a list of newspaper databases, click the Databases link from the Library homepage
• On the Databases page, select Newspapers & Magazines from the All Database Type pull-down box as shown below. 
  
• From the list, you can see that the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chronicle of Higher Education, Washington Post, etc. are listed.  Other newspapers may be covered in a newspaper database, such as Global Newsstream.
• To find out which database covers what newspaper, you can do a search of the newspaper title in OneSearch or using the Journal search module from the Library homepage.