Primary Sources

Sometimes it can be hard to think of what kinds of primary sources might be available for the topic you are interested in. Here are some strategies you can use to start your search.

• Use reference and secondary sources to get to know the topic.
  • Look for names, events, groups and organizations and other keywords that you can search.
• Look at the bibliography of secondary sources.
  • Pay attention to the dates, are they from the time period you are researching?
  • Also, consider reprints and compilations of items
  • What types of materials are they? Newspapers, letters, court documents?
• What was common at the time?
  • How did people communicate at that time?
• Use your imagination
  • You may have to 'imagine' the kinds of things that would be produced and may have survived

OneSearch

You can use the library search system - OneSearch to find books with primary sources. This includes reprints of original works like letters, speeches, and diaries, as well as published works like autobiographies.

Use Keywords to search for common kinds of primary source materials

• Letters
• Writings
• Speeches
• Testimonies/Testimonios
• Autobiography
• Oral histories
• Selected sources
• Documents
• Documentary history

Use the subject heading for primary sources: sources. A subject heading is like a #hashtag in social media. Each item is 'tagged' with what it is about and the tag allows users to search for things on that topic, or click on the tag to get more items like it.

Library Databases

The library has subscription access to collections of primary source material in several databases. From the A-Z databas list, use the type dropdown to narrow to primary Sources.

On the Web

You can find images and reprints of many primary sources online, as well as information about where to find physical items in libraries and museums. Like any source of information, be careful that you only use trusted sites to ensure the materials you access are authentic. Trusted institutions include

• University Libraries
• Museums, Historical Societies, and other cultural heritage institutions
• Government archives

See the Archives on the Web page for trusted websites chosen by Cal State LA Librarians

Be cautious of personal websites that may be difficult to verify that the item is what it claims to be.

Archival materials are stored in secure closed storage and retrieved for researchers, one box or item at a time, to view in a designated area. Every archive will have their own procedures, hours, and guidelines for using archival materials. Conducting research in an archive requires advanced planning and preparation. 

Planning and Preparing

• If you are having trouble locating primary sources, ask an archivist or librarian.
• Review the policies/guidelines and visiting hours on the archive’s website before your visit.
• Be prepared to request materials in advance. Most archives require advanced notice before you conduct onsite research.
• Expect to spend more than a couple of hours conducting archival research. Make sure you give yourself enough time to pursue your research.

Analyzing Primary Sources

1. Read any material that accompanies the primary source. If you have found a primary source in an archive or online, there may be a summary of it or the collection it comes from available.
2. Summarize as you read the primary source. Write down any keywords words or phrases. If there are words or phrases you do not understand look them up on Google.
3. If the primary source leads you to ask more questions about it make sure to write them down. Think about additional information you need to deepen your understanding of the source.
4. Make connections with what you already know to help put the primary source into historical context.
5. Based on the text in the primary source what can you infer? Write down your thoughts and conclusions.
6. Observe the physical attributes of the source. What can you learn from the format of the primary source? What does this tell you about it?
7. Check to see if the primary source has a date and creator/author. 
8. Does the primary source have an intended audience? Based on the audience of the primary source what conclusions can you draw about it?