Cal State LA Special Collections & Archives (SCA) supports the discovery, learning and engagement goals of the University by identifying, acquiring, preserving and providing access to unique and rare materials of enduring value.
The SCA collects distinctive collections and materials relating to Cal State LA, local, regional, and state history, and specifically the contributions of immigrants and communities of color. Items may include, but are not limited to, unpublished works such as personal papers and manuscripts, institutional and university records, photographs, and ephemera. Published materials may include books, periodicals, newspapers, and posters.
SCA materials are available for research by students, staff, and faculty, as well as the general public. We highly encourage scheduling a research appointment 1-week in advance, but walk-ins may be accommodated depending on the materials requested. There are currently three ways to search for SCA materials:
Use a Keyword search then limit your search in the Refine my Results section located on the right-hand side of the webpage.
Scroll down to Location and select Special Collections.
In the list of results, you will notice the format type of materials located in SCA such as Books and Archival Materials. Archival materials refer to manuscript items, which include unpublished materials suck as letters, photographs, scrapbooks, slides, textiles, ephemera, etc.
OAC is a database that makes primary source materials accessible such as manuscripts, photographs, and works held in libraries, museums, archives, and other institutions across California.
The digital archive collects and provides access to the research and resources for students, faculty, and staff of the Cal State LA Community.
As part of our commitment to research, teaching, and creative scholarship, Cal State LA SCA offers a series of academic support services ranging from research appointments and consultations to instruction sessions and tours.
In most cases, Cal State LA only owns the physical item/collection, not literary property or copyright. Therefore, as the researcher, it is your responsibility to seek the copyright status of an item if you wish to use it for publication. Items/collections that are owned by Cal State LA, researchers must make a request for permission and reproduction from SCA. However, if you are simply using the item for your own personal research there is no need to ask for permission.