Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

Open Access Research

This guide contains information about open access resources and events held by the University Library.

What is Open Access?

SPARC defines Open Access as "the free, immediate, online availability of research articles coupled with rights to use the articles fully in the digital environment."

Where Do I Get Started?

When you're ready to publish in an Open Access Journal, be sure to review:

Authors' Rights

The author is the copyright holder.

As the author of a work, you are the copyright holder unless and until you transfer the copyright to someone else in a signed agreement.

Assigning your rights matters.

Normally, the copyright holder possesses the exclusive rights of reproduction, distribution, public performance, public display, and modification of the original work. An author who has transferred copyright without retaining these rights must ask permission unless the use is one of the statutory exemptions in copyright law.

The copyright holder controls the work.

Decisions concerning use of the work, such as distribution, access, pricing, updates, and any use restrictions belong to the copyright holder. Authors who have transferred their copyright without retaining any rights may not be able to place the work on course Web sites, copy it for students or colleagues, deposit the work in a public online archive, or reuse portions in a subsequent work. That’s why it is important to retain the rights you need.

Transferring copyright doesn’t have to be all or nothing.

The law allows you to transfer copyright while holding back rights for yourself and others.

The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resource Coalition (SPARC) offers excellent information on securing the rights for works that your have authored.

Today many authors are signing amended publisher agreements that permit them to retain certain rights, such as the SPARC Author Addendum. Also, these same authors can selectively pre-grant permission for others to use or distribute their works according to pre-set conditions through such means as a Creative Commons license. This idea of selectively retaining rights has become a central point in reshaping the concept of Scholarly Communication.

MIT Libraries offers some information on common misconceptions concerning the author's rights, such as misconceptions about sharing your work on your web page or using your work in classroom settings. It is becoming increasingly important that authors are aware of their rights, especially when they have signed a contract with a publisher.

Publishers' Policies

In addition to impact and cost-effectiveness, other factors to consider when choosing a publisher include the publisher's copyright and archiving policies. Journals are assigned a color (green, gold, or hybrid), based on the level of rights your retain.

  • Cabell's Journalytics database provides the color access level for many journals, as shown in the example screenshot below. You also want to watch out for predatory publishers that often charge high author processing charges and provide little editorial or publishing support.
  • Cabell's Predatory Reports maintains a searchable database of deceptive journals.
  • Sherpa Romeo uses a different color classification scheme, but provides similar information on publisher copyright policies and self archiving information.

Open Access Colors

  • Green: The author can self-archive pre- and post-print publications for public use in a repository or archive.
  • Gold: The author is published in an fully open access.
  • Hybrid: The author is published in a subscription journal, often paying a fee to make their specific article open access. The Open Access Author Fund at Cal State LA does not fund articles published in hybird journals.
John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988