Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

Electronic Resources Training

Types of Electronic Resources

Electronic resources consist of a variety of types.  Below is a brief overview of the types of electronic resources we have in the Library. 

Resource Type

Brief Description

Example

Publisher Journal Package

Academic journal packages are generally published by university presses and well-known academic publishers, such as, Oxford University Press, Wiley.
Available in OneSearch

  • Oxford University Press Journals Online
  • Wiley Online Library
  • Sage Premier Collection
  • ScienceDirect

Aggregator Databases

An aggregator database collates and indexes many resources including full-text journal articles, index/abstract journal articles, images,  magazine and newspaper articles, etc.
Available in OneSearch

  • EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  • Proquest ABI/Inform

Non-article databases

These databases are not article-based.  There are a variety of non-article-based databases, such as, statistical databases,  investment databases, image/media databases, music database, etc.  
 

  • IBISWorld
  • Value Line
  • SimplyAnalytics
  • ArtStor

Newspapers (single paper or aggregated)

Newspaper databases can be a single newspaper database or aggregated newspaper databases

Available in OneSearch

  • New York Times
  • Los Angeles Times
  • Global Newsstream

Single Subject Databases

Some databases cover only a single subject area, and most of these types of databases are journal packages. 

Available in OneSearch

  • APS (American Physical Society) Journals
  • AnthroSource

Single Journal

In addition to journal packages in publishers and aggregators databases, there are single journals that we subscribe to.  All journals can be searched by using the Journals search (part of OneSearch) from the Library homepage. 

Available in OneSearch

  • The Journal of economic history
  • Harvard educational review

eBook Packages

Currently, most ebook packages are subscription-based from the Chancellor’s Office.  The Library started EBA ebook collections last year.  All ebooks are searchable in OneSearch. 

Available in OneSearch
 

  • GVRL
  • eBook Central (Proquest)

Individual Purchased eBooks

The Library also purchases ebooks individually in all subjects.  To find individual ebooks, use OneSearch
Available in OneSearch

Open Access eBooks

About 160,000 open access ebooks are available for access using OneSearch.

Available in OneSearch

Open-Access Journals

Journal access made available by various open access sources

Available in OneSearch

  • Directory of Open Access Journals

Media Databases

Similar to those non-article-based databases, media databases include image databases, music databases, video databases, etc.

 

  • AnatomyTV
  • Films on Demand
  • AVON
  • Music Online

Library Access from Off-Campus

When you access library electronic resources from off-campus, you need to use one of the following methods.

1.  Campus VPN  (Recommended)

Setting up VPN (Virtual Private Network) on your personal computer allows students, faculty, and staff to access library resources from off-campus.

  • Download the VPN client 
  • Once VPN is installed on your computer, you turn it on by clicking the Connect button (shown below).

     

2.  EZProxy Login  (Default)

When you are off-campus and click on library electronic resources, you will be prompted to login using the EZProxy screen (shown below). Login using your MyCalStateLA ID username and password.

     

Please note:

  • Place your MyCalStateLA ID account username (e.g. lsmith8) in the user name box. Do not include @calstatela.edu as part of your username.
  • If you don't know your MyCalStateLA username and password, please go to the myCalStateLA page and click on "Forgot Password."
  • If you experience difficulty in recovering your ID username and password, please contact the ITS Help Desk at helpdesk@calstatela.edu or 323-343-6170.

Linking to Library Resources

What Are Permanent Links and Why Do I Want Them?

Permanent links, also called durable links, are internet addresses or URLs that remain consistent and do not change over time. For example, our library home page can always be reliably reached at http://library.calstatela.edu because it is a permanent link. By using a permanent link to items like full-text articles or videos in databases allows you to share the resource without worrying about the link breaking.

Creating Permanent Links from OneSearch Results

From the OneSearch Results:


Click the PERMALINK option right above the book or article title. An example is shown below:
Screenshot of Permalink Option in OneSearch

Creating Permalinks in Individual Databases

For articles, media, and datasets you found in an individual database, you will need to see whether the campus EZProxy prefix (http://mimas.calstatela.edu/login?url=) is part of the permanent URL. If the EZProxy prefix is not part of the URL, you need to add it.  If it already includes our EZProxy prefix, you can just simply copy and paste it for your use. 

The proxy prefix points the address to the library’s proxy server and allows Cal State LA community members to authenticate and use the resource from off-campus in our databases.

Below is an example of how you would put the EZProxy prefix in front of a permanent URL for an article.

Bartlett, J. (2021). Mapping Information Landscapes: New Methods for Exploring the Development and Teaching of Information Literacy. Online Searcher, 45(4), 46–47.

  • Identify the permanent link:
    http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=151339609&site=ehost-live&scope=site
  • Add the EZProxy Prefix (http://mimas.calstatela.edu/login?url=) to the permanent link.
  • Post the final link (see below) wherever you want to share the article.
    http://mimas.calstatela.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=151339609&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Links will work from on- and off-campus computers with your MyCSULA Identity authentication.

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988