Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

E-Books

E-Book Collection @ CSULA Library

An electronic book, or e-book, is a book that is accessible on a computer or other electronic devices such as tablets and smartphones.  CSULA University Library provides e-books from a variety of publishers.  This guide helps you find and use the e-books in our collection. It includes information about the number of concurrent users allowed, downloading, printing, e-reader software and downloading e-books to your favorite device.

E-books can be accessed both on- and off-campus.  For off-campus access, you need to login using your MyCSULA Identity Account login ID and password. 

Search or Browse E-Book Collections


You can search or browse individual E-book collections owned by CSULA by clicking on the link in the left column.  Most ebooks should be searchable using OneSearch

 

E-BOOK COLLECTION

DESCRIPTION

ACCESS
DOWNLOAD
PRINT
CITE

Access Engineering

AccessEngineering contains current editions of engineering references on a variety of engineering subjects as well as Schaum's Outlines on those subjects. It comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, and personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information. 

  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • Print available

ACLS Humanities E-Books

ACLS is a digital collection of 5,400 full-text titles offered by the ACLS in collaboration with nineteen learned societies and nearly 100 contributing publishers.  The collection contains searchable full-text contents with unlimited simultaneous access in historical studies, art history, literature, political science, religion, and primary sources.

  • CSU system-wide shared collection with unlimited concurrent users
  • Download and print one chapter at a time mostly in PDF format
  • Export to Zotero only

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an ideal starting point for beginning researchers. The collection contains over 700 online reference titles from 100+ and offers curated, authoritative reference sources that provide a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Users can start with Credo, gather background information, find key terms and concepts, and then seamlessly travel to the library’s journal databases for more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles.

  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • Encyclopedia articles can be downloaded, printed in text and PDF format.
  • Export to Google Drive

Ebook Central - Proquest

Ebook Central Platform contains ebooks from the CSU system-wide Proquest Academic Complete collection of approximately 180,000+ titles covering multidisciplinary topics. For more information about downloading, visit the Ebook Central LibGuide.

  • CSU system-wide shared collection with unlimited concurrent users and downloading
  • Campus owned titles with different access options
  • Entire book can be downloaded, and can print up to a range of pages
  • Export to RefWorks and EndNote.

EBSCO eBooks

EBSCOhost ebook collection consists of ebooks in multi-subjects. These ebooks can be searched directly alongside our EBSCO databases. The collection includes previous NetLibrary ebooks, CSU system-wide shared EBSCO ebooks, as well as our library purchased ebooks on the EBSCO interface. The concurrent user level is displayed under "eBook Availability" on the left for each title.

  • Concurrent access varies from 1 user, 3 users to unlimited
  • Downloading to read offline is available for 3-user and unlimited-user option titles
  • Can print and save up to 60 pages maximum per internet browser session
  • Export to a variety of available bibliographic tools, e.g., RefWorks, EndNote.
  • For best search results, use EBSCO eBook platform

GVRL

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) offers an online collection of premier reference ebooks including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search a single ebook or across an entire eBook collection.

  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • Encyclopedia articles can be downloaded, printed in text and PDF format.
  • Export to a variety of available bibliographic tools, e.g., RefWorks, EndNote.

JSTOR Evidence-Based Acquisitions (EBA) Collection

JSTOR EBA eBooks collection offers unlimited access to over 48,000 titles including publications up to 2017. The collection covers disciplines in history, sociology, language & literature, political science, anthropology, law, philosophy, religion, film, education, primary source ebooks, and more.
  • DRM-free with unlimited concurrent users
  • Chapters can be downloaded, printed and shared.
  • Export to a variety of available bibliographic tools, e.g., RefWorks, EndNote.

Momentum Press Digital Library and Professional Reference Collection (ebooks)

The collection contains ebook titles within engineering, science and applied technology disciplines and across topics of interests. Titles range from more traditional, in-depth, reference style materials in the Professional Reference Collection (PRC) to more applied and concise treatments of topics in the digital libraries. The material is intended for use as reference and primary or supplemental text.

  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • eBooks can be downloaded, printed, and emailed.
  • Export feature to bibliographic tools is not available

Oxford Reference Collection

Oxford Reference offers an online collection of premier reference ebooks including quotation, language dictionaries, encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • Encyclopedia articles can be printed, and emailed.
  • Export feature to bibliographic tools is not available
  • The Library owns 15 titles. To search for the library owned titles, select Browse and Search Books, and check "Unlocked" and "Free"  boxes

Safari Books Online by O’Reilly

Safari Books Online is a CSU system-wide shared collection of business and technology electronic resources including 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video.   The business content covers from problem-solving and leadership to customer service and employee performance. The technology content covers most essential areas including certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linux/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, as well as big data, artificial intelligence, and gaming. It includes 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly’s global conferences and 250 of the world’s publishers.

  • CSU system-wide shared collection with unlimited user access
  • Mobile and multi-device enabled
  • Personalization provides tailored content recommendations, playlists for easy retrieval and content syncing across multiple devices, including notes, highlights, and bookmarks.
  • Downloading and printing can be done by copying and pasting the needed content to Word
  • Export feature to bibliographic tools is not available

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science (ebooks)

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science provides short ebooks in lecture format that synthesize important research or development topics authored by contributors in the fields of engineering and computer science.

  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • eBooks can be downloaded, printed, and emailed.
  • Export feature to bibliographic tools is not available

Taylor & Francis Evidence-based Acquisitions (EBA) Collection

Taylor & Francis Evidence-based Acquisitions eBooks offer unlimited access to close to 20,000 titles in two major collections: HSS collection for social sciences, humanities, and education, and the CRCNetBASE collection for science and engineering.
  • DRM-free with unlimited concurrent users
  • Chapters can be downloaded, printed in PDF format.

eBooks from Other Publishers

E-books from Coutts, Elsevier, Springer, and Wiley can be searched using OneSearch

 

 

 

 

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988