LibGuides: Modern Languages & Literature: Additional Resources: Chinese

Books on Chinese Language & Literature

Search via OneSearch. Tips:

Useful subject terms: Chinese literature, chinese-americans, chinese poetry, chinese fiction, china, chinese.
Try searching by book title or author name.
Use filters on the left to limit by subject, author, or type of resource (e.g., book).
Can't find a book? Search CSU Collections and order it via interlibrary loan.

You can physically browse Chinese literature and literary criticism on the third floor of the library. The call numbers are:

PL1001-3208 Chinese language and literature (includes...)

PL1001-1960 Chinese language

PL2250-3208 Chinese literature

PL2250-2443 History and criticism (literature subcategories)

PL2450-2659 Collections

PL2661-2979 Individual authors and works

PL3030-3208 Provincial, local, colonial, etc.

PL3301-3311 Non-Chinese languages of China

Books at the Library
A list of key encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions to Chinese Studies.

Tuttle Concise Chinese Dictionary
Use your single sign-on to access this online Mandarin Chinese Dictionary. Ebook.
ABC Chinese-English Dictionary
Prefer a physical book? This comprehensive dictionary is available for check-out.
Call number: 3rd floor PL1455 .A33 2003

China Journal Net
The China Journal Net offers a fee-based full-text database covering more than 5,000 journals published in China, starting from 1994 to present.
Chinese Rubbins Collection
The Fine Arts Library and Harvard-Yenching Library holds rubbings of objects that date from the Qin Dynasty to the Ming Dynasty.
East Asian Digital Scholarship Lab
The East Asian Digital Scholarship Lab aims to serve as a starting point for scholars and students interested in digital scholarship in East Asian studies.
Chinese Text Initiative
Sponsored by the University of Virginia Library East Asian Section and the Electronic Text Center. Currently available are: 300 Tang Poems and Dream of the Red Chamber.
Chinese Classics
Full-text works of pre-Qin philosophers, poetry & prose, biography, commentary, novels and other classical literature.

News: