Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

Electronic Resources Training

eBook Overview

An electronic book, or ebook, is a book that is accessible on a computer or other electronic devices such as tablets and smartphones.  The Library provides ebooks from a variety of publishers.  The chart below provides you with an overview of the Library's ebook collection. It includes information about the number of concurrent users allowed, downloading, printing, e-reader software and downloading e-books to your favorite device.

eBooks can be accessed both on- and off-campus.  For off-campus access, you need to login using your MyCSULA Identity Account login ID and password. 

You can search or browse individual eBook collections available at Cal State LA by clicking on the link.  The best way to find ebooks in the Library is to search using OneSearch.

For more information about eBooks, visit the eBook Guide

eBOOK COLLECTION

DESCRIPTION

ACCESS
DOWNLOAD
PRINT
CITE

Access Engineering

AccessEngineering contains current editions of engineering references on a variety of engineering subjects as well as Schaum's Outlines on those subjects. It comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, and personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information. 

  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • Print available

ACLS Humanities E-Books

ACLS is a digital collection of 5,400 full-text titles offered by the ACLS in collaboration with nineteen learned societies and nearly 100 contributing publishers.  The collection contains searchable full-text contents with unlimited simultaneous access in historical studies, art history, literature, political science, religion, and primary sources.

  • CSU system-wide shared collection with unlimited concurrent users
  • Download and print one chapter at a time mostly in PDF format
  • Export to Zotero only

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an ideal starting point for beginning researchers. The collection contains over 700 online reference titles from 100+ and offers curated, authoritative reference sources that provide a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Users can start with Credo, gather background information, find key terms and concepts, and then seamlessly travel to the library’s journal databases for more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles.

  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • Encyclopedia articles can be downloaded, printed in text and PDF format.
  • Export to Google Drive

Ebook Central - Proquest

Ebook Central Platform contains ebooks from the CSU system-wide Proquest Academic Complete collection of approximately 180,000+ titles covering multidisciplinary topics. For more information about downloading, visit the Ebook Central LibGuide.

  • CSU system-wide shared collection with unlimited concurrent users and downloading
  • Campus owned titles with different access options
  • Entire book can be downloaded, and can print up to a range of pages
  • Export to RefWorks and EndNote.

EBSCO eBooks

EBSCOhost ebook collection consists of ebooks in multi-subjects. These ebooks can be searched directly alongside our EBSCO databases. The collection includes previous NetLibrary ebooks, CSU system-wide shared EBSCO ebooks, as well as our library purchased ebooks on the EBSCO interface. The concurrent user level is displayed under "eBook Availability" on the left for each title.

  • Concurrent access varies from 1 user, 3 users to unlimited
  • Downloading to read offline is available for 3-user and unlimited-user option titles
  • Can print and save up to 60 pages maximum per internet browser session
  • Export to a variety of available bibliographic tools, e.g., RefWorks, EndNote.
  • For best search results, use EBSCO eBook platform

GVRL

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) offers an online collection of premier reference ebooks including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search a single ebook or across an entire eBook collection.

  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • Encyclopedia articles can be downloaded, printed in text and PDF format.
  • Export to a variety of available bibliographic tools, e.g., RefWorks, EndNote.

JSTOR Evidence-Based Acquisitions (EBA) Collection

JSTOR EBA eBooks collection offers unlimited access to over 48,000 titles including publications up to 2017. The collection covers disciplines in history, sociology, language & literature, political science, anthropology, law, philosophy, religion, film, education, primary source ebooks, and more.
  • DRM-free with unlimited concurrent users
  • Chapters can be downloaded, printed and shared.
  • Export to a variety of available bibliographic tools, e.g., RefWorks, EndNote.

Momentum Press Digital Library and Professional Reference Collection (ebooks)

The collection contains ebook titles within engineering, science and applied technology disciplines and across topics of interests. Titles range from more traditional, in-depth, reference style materials in the Professional Reference Collection (PRC) to more applied and concise treatments of topics in the digital libraries. The material is intended for use as reference and primary or supplemental text.

  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • eBooks can be downloaded, printed, and emailed.
  • Export feature to bibliographic tools is not available

Oxford Reference Collection

Oxford Reference offers an online collection of premier reference ebooks including quotation, language dictionaries, encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • Encyclopedia articles can be printed, and emailed.
  • Export feature to bibliographic tools is not available
  • The Library owns 15 titles. To search for the library owned titles, select Browse and Search Books, and check "Unlocked" and "Free"  boxes

Safari Books Online by O’Reilly

Safari Books Online is a CSU system-wide shared collection of business and technology electronic resources including 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video.   The business content covers from problem-solving and leadership to customer service and employee performance. The technology content covers most essential areas including certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linux/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, as well as big data, artificial intelligence, and gaming. It includes 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly’s global conferences and 250 of the world’s publishers.

  • CSU system-wide shared collection with unlimited user access
  • Mobile and multi-device enabled
  • Personalization provides tailored content recommendations, playlists for easy retrieval and content syncing across multiple devices, including notes, highlights, and bookmarks.
  • Downloading and printing can be done by copying and pasting the needed content to Word
  • Export feature to bibliographic tools is not available

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science (ebooks)

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science provides short ebooks in lecture format that synthesize important research or development topics authored by contributors in the fields of engineering and computer science.

  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • eBooks can be downloaded, printed, and emailed.
  • Export feature to bibliographic tools is not available
ScienceDirect Evidence-based Selection (EBS) Collection ScienceDirect EBS Collection contains over 3,500 titles in the following subject areas: agricultural, biological, and food sciences; biochemistry, genetics and molecular biology; biomedical science & medicine; chemical engineering; chemistry; computer science; earth and planetary sciences; energy; engineering; plastics engineering;  environmental science; finance, forensics, security, and criminal justice, immunology and microbiology; materials science; mathematics, medicine and dentistry; neuroscience; pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutical science; physics and astronomy; psychology; and social sciences.  
  • Access via OneSearch from the Library homepage or via ScienceDirect database
  • Unlimited concurrent users
  • eBook chapters can be downloaded, printed, emailed
  • Export feature to bibliographic tools is available

eBooks from Other Publishers

eBooks from Coutts, Elsevier, Sage, Springer, and Wiley can be searched using OneSearch

 

 

eBook for Reserves and LMS

Before placing an e-book on reserves or linking it in Canvas for your course, you need to make sure the following:

The eBook needs to have unlimited concurrent user access

  • Many Library's e-books have limited concurrent users varying from one user to three users, you should check and find out the number of concurrent users for the e-book in question.  To check the level of access for an ebook, you can do a title search using OneSearch. 
  • If an e-book you would like to place on reserves with limited access (1-user, 3-user, etc.), please get in touch with the library subject liaison librarian to your department.  The librarian can seek to learn if unlimited access at the institutional level (with no specific limit of concurrent users) can be made possible, and at what cost.   If it turns out that concurrent use can be purchased for no more than say three simultaneous users, you may want to supplement the e-book availability with a hardcopy format of the same title to be put on physical Reserves in the library.

Not all eBooks are in perpetuity in our collection

  • Books in Proquest eBook Central can be dropped by publishers twice a year in June and December.

Link eBooks in Canvas

eBooks with unlimited access can be linked in Canvas for your courses.  In order for both teaching faculty and students to be able to access these ebooks on campus and remotely, you need to make sure to use the ebook's permanent link plus the campus EZProxy prefix.

Example 1 -- Permanent Link from OneSearch Result

If you've obtained the permanent link from your OneSearch result,  you don't need to add the library's EZProxy prefix

Wyness, L., Stanner, S., & Buttriss, J. (2013). Nutrition and development: Short- and long-term consequences for health (British Nutrition Foundation). Chichester, West Sussex: Published by Wiley-Blackwell for the British Nutrition Foundation.

Permanent Link:
https://csula-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo-explore/fulldisplay?docid=01CALS_ALMA51439171680002901&context=L&vid=01CALS_ULA&search_scope=01CALS_ULA&tab=books_local&lang=en_US

How to Obtain a Permanent Link?
OneSearch Result--click the PERMALINK under Send To


Example 2 -- Permanent Link from an individual eBook package

BEM, S. (1998). An Unconventional Family. Yale University Press.

From JSTOR eBook package. 

Permanent eBook URL: https://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt32bkvj

In this case, you need to add the Cal State LA EZProxy prefix: http://mimas.calstatela.edu/login?url= in front of the book permanent URL, so you eBook URL will have two components: EZProxy Link + Permanent Link 
In the example above, the correct URL to use for Canvas, email, etc. is:
http://mimas.calstatela.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt32bkvj

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988