Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

Electronic Resources Training

Find Books and Media Using OneSearch

BENEFITS OF USING ONESEARCH TO FIND BOOKS & OTHER PHYSICAL ITEMS

  • You can find books in all 23 CSU campus libraries including Cal State LA;
  • It's very easy for you to export your book search results to citation management tools, e.g., RefWorks, EndNote Web;
  • It's very easy for you to request a book to be sent over for you from other CSU libraries using CSU+;

SEARCH AND REQUEST

  • Two search scopes to find books and media items in OneSearch 
    • Cal State LA Collections to find books and media items in our own library here at Cal State LA
    • CSU Collections to find books and media items in all 23 CSU campuses
  • Search Cal State LA Collections: Marijuana and gateway drug
    • Narrow down your search by selecting Books under Material Type
    • At the result page, you can narrow down to books, book chapters, open access books by using the facets on the left.
      • For print books, you will see Available at John F Kennedy Memorial Library Books - Level ...
      • For ebooks, you will see Online Access or Full-text availability links
      • For ebook chapters, you will see Full-text availability links

Find Books at Other CSUs Using OneSearch


If you don't find a book or a media item you are looking for available at our Library under Cal State LA Collections search option,  select CSU Collections from the pull-down menu

  • You can do either a keyword search, e.g., Marijuana and gateway drug or a title search
    Zimmer, L., & Morgan, J. (1997). Marijuana myths, marijuana facts: A review of the scientific evidence. New York: Lindesmith Center.
  • At the result page, if a book is not available here in this library, you should see a line below the book entry says "Check for available services"
  • You have two options here:
    • Login to request the book to be sent over for you via CSU+
    • Go to a local CSU library to pick it up

Request for Books via CSU+ or Pick-up at a Local CSU Library

  • Once you logged in, you will see the "Request through CSU+" link and click link to request the book to be sent over for you from another CSU. It takes 2 to 4 business days for the Library to get the book.

     
  • If you need the book urgently, and you find the book in a local CSU library, you should go to the library to get the book.  Before you go, you need to click the Available link to see if the book is currently available in the library you are planning to go. Your Cal State LA student ID card can be used at other CSU libraries to borrow books, and you also need to take your current registration with you.  

Save, Email, Export to RefWorks  

To save, email and export book records to RefWorks, follow the directions for the article export in this guide.

WorldCat & Google Books

Using WorldCat

  • Using Open WorldCat to find which library near you has the book by zip code
  • Using WorldCat to find the book by library and request the book via Interlibrary Loan (this function is available in Multi-Search under Library Worldwild tab)

Using Google Books

  • Searching Google Books to find whether a book is full-text or partially full-text available online
  • Searching Google Books to identify whether a book is available in print in your local library
John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988