Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

Electronic Resources Training

Overview of Theses and Dissertations

Thesis and dissertation searches involve access to a few different online sources/databases.  There are two separate searches:

  • Cal State LA Master's theses and doctoral dissertations
  • Theses and dissertations worldwide 

You need to search them using OneSearch or different databases.   Please follow the directions in this Guide. 

 

CAL STATE LA MASTER'S THESES AND DOCTORAL DISSERTATIONS

Cal State LA Digital Theses and Dissertations (Fall 2011 ~ Present)
Three ways to search for Cal State LA digital theses and dissertations.

  • Cal State LA Digital Repository
  • Index to Cal State LA Masters Theses Collection via Proquest
  • OneSearch using "csla thesis" as a keyword search, and the limit the search results by date and resource type

I. Cal State LA Digital Repository

Path: Library web homepage --> About the Library --> Collections --> Theses and Dissertations --> University Library Digital Repository 

Beginning in the Fall of 2011, all Master's theses, projects and doctoral dissertations are submitted "electronically" and available online via the Cal State LA Digital Repository.  You can follow the path to access full-text Cal State LA theses and dissertations.

II. Index to Cal State LA Masters Theses Collection via Proquest

Path: Library web homepage --> Databases --> Cal State LA Master's Theses --> Proquest Dissertations & Theses (CSULA) interface.

Cal State LA Master's theses and doctoral dissertations are also indexed by Proquest.  You can access thesis index/abstract via Proquest and the index search result will connect you to the University Library Digital Repository for full-text.  

The Proquest interface is a good tool to generate thesis lists by department

III. Search Using OneSearch

Enter CSLA thesis in OneSearch box from the homepage.   At the result page, limit your results by Theses & Dissertations under Resource Type and 2011 to present year or another year of your choice under Publication Date. The result connects you to the thesis to the Library Digital Repository.  In some cases, you may need to redo the search after login on the Repository.

Cal State LA Print Theses Collection (1954 ~ Spring 2011)

The Library maintains a complete set of bound master's theses in print (1954 ~ Spring 2011) written by students who received their graduate degree from Cal State LA. Print theses can be searched using OneSearch.  Please click the Print Theses Collection tab for instructions on accessing the collection. 


PROQUEST DIGITAL DISSERTATIONS AND THESES

Path: Library web homepage --> Databases --> Digital Dissertation and Theses

The Library's subscription of Proquedst Digital Dissertations and Theses database covers Humanities and Social Sciences Section, is comprised of digitized dissertations worldwide in a variety of subject areas including Education, Art, Communications, Literature, Linguistics, Social Sciences and Humanities.

Cal State LA Digital Theses

You can find digital theses with full-text in DSpace.   Currently, only current enrolled students, faculty, and others who have MyCalStateLA Identity login can have access.

Digital Theses in DSpace

Since fall 2011, Cal State LA have been publishing its Master's theses, projects, and doctoral dissertations in a digital repository, powered by DSpace.   MyCalStateLA user name and password are required to access the full-text theses in the repository.  

Path: Library web homepage --> About the Library --> Collections --> Theses & Dissertation

Search: You can search using keywords, author,  subject and date
Result:  Once you are on the result page, you can click Download to open full-text

Digital Theses Index

Cal State LA Digital Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from fall 2011 are also indexed by Proquest.  You can access thesis index/abstract via Proquest and the search result will connect you to the University Library Digital Repository for full-text.   To access Cal State LA thesis and dissertation index/abstract via Proquest follows the path below

Path: Library web homepage --> Databases --> Cal State LA Master's Theses --> Proquest Dissertations & Theses (CSULA) interface.

The Proquest interface is a good tool to generate thesis lists by department

Search Results

1.  Connect to full-text  -- Clicking the Findit button in search result can connect you to the full-text ethesis in the library digital repository.  Once you have reached the digital repository page, you should login first using the Login link on the upper right corner of the screen.  Sometimes, linking may not be working as desired.  If that happens, redo a search in the digital repository, and then retrieve the full-text thesis.

2. Download a list of etheses by department --  To download a list of etheses by department, at the search result display, do the following:

  • First to make sure to change the default display from 10 items per page to the maximum 100 items, so you only need to download the theses once or twice if there are more than 100 theses.  You can find this option at the bottom of the search result list.
  • Then select All theses on the list by check the box next to "Select"

  • Click Save and Select RefWorks

  • Once RefWorks opens, login to your RefWorks account to download the list

Cal State LA Print Theses

Cal State LA Print Theses Collection covers Master's theses and projects from 1954 to Spring 2011.

Print theses can be searched using OneSearch.

The print thesis collections are housed in the Special Collections and Archives unit of the JFK Memorial Library, located in the Palmer Wing, Room 2079.

Print theses are non-circulating but can be accessed through walk-in appointments or requesting digitization by demand. To schedule an appointment in advance, please fill out the Collections Appointment Form.

Should you have any issues accessing a title, please contact specialcollections@calstatela.edu or (323) 343-3960.

OneSearch Examples

Print these can be searched using OneSearch.  

Example 1 -- Find All Print Theses at Cal State LA

  • In OneSearch box, enter CSLA thesis
  • At the search result page, and in the left facet column, under Resource Type, select Theses and Dissertations
  • At the search result page, and in the left facet column, under Subject, select theses by department or discipline

Example 2 -- Find Print Theses by Topic

  • In OneSearch box, enter keywords San Gabriel
  • At the result page, and in the left facet column, under Resource Type, select Theses and Dissertations
  • You can then further narrow down your result by subject or discipline under Subject, e.g., Geology CSLA Thesis to view 9 theses by the subject

Next Step -- Setup an Appointment to Review the Thesis of Your Choice

  • Now that you have found a theses that you would like to review, make note of the Call Number and make an appointment
  • Library Special Collections staff will pull the items you requested and have them waiting for you when you arrive.
  • Library Special Collections is located in the Palmer Wing or Library South, Room 2079

Digital Dissertations and Theses Worldwide

The Library's subscription of Proquedst Digital Dissertation and Thesis database covers Humanities and Social Sciences Section, is comprised of over 900,000 digitized dissertations worldwide in a variety of subject areas including Education, Art, Communications, Literature, Linguistics, Social Sciences and Humanities.

To access the database, following the path below:

Path: Library web homepage -- Databases -- Digital Dissertation and Theses

Search Examples

1. By Author
If you need to find a dissertation by author, e.g., Christopher Endy, 

  • Enter the author's last name, then first name
  • Select Author in the dropdown box on the right
  • At the result page, you can choose either download the entire dissertation, or read it online

 

 

2. By Title
If you need to find a dissertation by title, e.g., 
Children of the Mexican miracle: Childhood and modernity in Mexico City, 1940–1968

  • Enter the entire dissertation title
  • Select Document - Title in the dropdown box
John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988