Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

Electronic Resources Training

Search for Articles Using OneSearch

OneSearch is the most effective way to search for articles. 

  • Search and narrow down
  • Search beyond Cal State and Request Articles via Interlibrary loan
  • Related reading
  • EBSCO Search

SEARCH

  • From Library homepage, enter search term(s) to the OneSearch box
  • At the result page, narrow down by Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journals Articles
  • You can further narrow your search result down by subject, year, and collection
  • You can even narrow the search results down by type of articles under the Subject, e.g., Studies, Analysis, Research

 

SEARCH BEYOND CAL STATE AND REQUEST ARTICLES VIA INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the search result is not good enough, check the "Include results beyond Cal State" box.  When you select the box, you will find in your result, some articles are not available at the Library.  You can then request the article to be sent over via the interlibrary loan service. 

RELATED READING

Related reading list is a good way to expand your topic search.  Related reading is available on the right side of the screen on the full-record display page.

EBSCO ARTICLE SEARCH

There are two options to search for articles covered in all EBSCO databases: via OneSearch EBSCO search option, or select EBSCO Databases from the Databases A-Z list.  Approximately, over 85% of the EBSCO covered articles are available in OneSearch.  You should search EBSCO to make sure your research is thorough.    

Via OneSearch

  • Click the down arrow in OnSearch box, select EBSCO option

Unlike the OneSearch result with fully developed Facets for you to narrow down your results, with the EBSCO Article API search, only facets you can see are the "Subject" and "Journal Titles". 

EBSCO search using the "EBSCO Databases" link from the Database A-Z list can provide you with more features. 

 

Search for Articles Using Google Scholar

You must access Google Scholar from the Library homepage or via the Databases A-Z list. 

BENEFITS OF USING GOOGLE SCHOLAR

  • Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.  Sometimes you can find articles that you can't find using OneSearch. 

  • The benefit to use Google Scholar via library homepage or the database A-Z list is that your search result page provides you direct links to full-text articles in databases subscribed by the Library.

It can be very effective, when you don't find an article via OneSearch. 

GOOGLE SCHOLAR ACCESS

You must access Google Scholar from the Library homepage or via the Databases A-Z list. 

Example:

Garces, Nicholas. “Islam, till Death Do You Part? Rethinking Apostasy Laws Under Islamic Law and International Legal Obligations.” Southwestern journal of international law 16.1 (2009): 229–

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988