Library Databases for LBS 3600

Cal State LA Library

A-Z databases

Use one or more of the following databases to find journal articles, newspaper articles, etc. The full list of available databases/indexes can be found using the link on the library homepage. You can find a list of databases related to Liberal Studies research by selecting Liberal Studies under All Subjects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides over 20,000 indexed and abstracted journals including 6,600 full-text journals and magazines, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. PDF content dating back to 1887.
To see which titles are available in full-text, as well as the names of all titles indexed and abstracted, check the EBSCOhost Database Coverage List and Title List by Subject . Updated daily.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers history of the United States and Canada from 1493. It indexes over 1,800 journals and Ph.D. dissertations including book reviews. Its Clio Notes provide guides on key topics in United States history and allow you to browse through chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes from the Colonization of America to the 21st Century.
Coverage: 1895-present
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Please note:
The link to EBSCO Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) database has been redirected to EBSCO Communication Source. Communication Source covers all content in CMMC with 170 additional journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers interdisciplinary content including approximately 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provide access to full-text scholarly journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences with over 120 publishers currently participating.
View the List of Journals Covered
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles in over 600 periodicals in sociology, psychology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.
Full text coverage begins in 1994, abstracting begins in 1984 and indexing begins in 1983

Searching Multiple Ebsco Databases at Once

Search multiple databases at once by clicking on choose databases within an Ebsco database:

Scroll over the bubble next to the database name to see a brief description of what types of resources are included:

Select as many databases as you like and click

Finding the Full Text of an Article from a Database Search

Library databases enable you to retrieve the full-text of an article, either by clicking the full-text link or the button for the article you want.

Does the database you are searching in provide this article in PDF or HTML full-text?

If so, click on the full text link to save and/or print the full article and export the article citation to Refworks.

If not, click on to learn how to locate the article in full-text. This page will let you know if:

1. The article you are looking for is available in another database

2. If the article is not available in another database, you can submit a request to get the article using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL is a service where the library gets an electronic copy of the article for you for free and sends you a notification to your email.

University Library

LBS 3600- Interdisciplinary Approaches to Culture and Society

Library Databases for LBS 3600

Cal State LA Library

A-Z databases

Searching Multiple Ebsco Databases at Once

Finding the Full Text of an Article from a Database Search