LibGuides: BUS 5995 Business Administration Project: Nonprofits & Local Businesses

Researching Nonprofits, Private or Local Businesses

Exploring details about nonprofits and private companies, including local businesses, poses a challenge since they aren't obligated to disclose financial information like publicly traded corporations. This lack of transparency makes researching private companies difficult. With fewer reporting requirements, statistical data on your company may be scarce. Additionally, the limited information available on many private companies often results in fewer research articles.

For information on a private or local company, consider searching through the following resources:

Company websites
Magazine or Journal articles (specific to the company or the broader industry)
Newspaper articles (especially for local companies)
Interviews

In cases where information on your specific company is scarce, it's beneficial to explore details about competitors and conduct industry or market research.

Valuable information of this kind can be found in resources like Business Source Premier or ABI/INFORM.

Databases for Nonprofits

Charity Navigator
GuideStar
Create a free account for financials from the IRS.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
CitizenAudit.org
Search Nonprofit Tax Data
Joint Commision Quality Check

Databases for Local Organizations

Los Angeles Times (1996- current) This link opens in a new window
Southern California's largest daily newspaper. For electronic access to the historical segment of Los Angeles Time from 1881 to 1994, use Los Angeles Times (1881-1994) or Historical Los Angeles Times.
DESCRIPTION:
The Los Angeles Times is the Southern California's largest daily newspaper. CSULA has electronic access to the newspaper from 1/1/1985 to present.
The historical segment of the Los Angeles Times from 1881-1992 is available for electronic access at Historical Los Angeles Times.
The Los Angeles Times is also available at its own website: http://www.latimes.com/. One can access articles from the last week of the paper, as well as some specially selected older stories at no cost.

GUIDES:
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Content Includes
- Full-text for more than 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications
- Full-text coverage dating back to 1990
Gale in Context: College This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more.
Additional content: hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
CCH AnswerConnect This link opens in a new window
Formerly CCH IntelliConnect, the CCH AnswerConnect provides unlimited access to CCH's complete federal and state tax libraries, including all relevant federal, state and local primary source material, CCH's explanations, analysis, and practice tools.
Official publications of the Internal Revenue Service and the federal government include the Internal Revenue Code, Internal Revenue Manual, Letter Rulings, IRS Positions, Federal Tax Regulations, and Tax Cases. CCH Explanation and Analysis includes the Standard Federal Income Tax Reporter, Federal Estate and Gift Tax Reporter, Federal Excise Tax Reporter, Tax Treaties Reporter, US Master Tax Guide, and all US State Tax Reporters. Current awareness services include daily and weekly newsletters on developments in various areas of tax law.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Provides a broad and detailed coverage of international business. It includes case studies, full-text articles and data sets coupled with references and tools for analysis. This resource empowers users to not only research topics, but to interpret research.
Features of Gale Business Insights: Global include:
- Global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content
- Company histories and market share data
- Global industry research reports
- Full-text articles from academic journals, business periodicals, newswires and other media outlets
- Hundreds of economic and business indicators that allow for analyses of economies, companies and industries
- Case studies from Gale's CaseBase as well as from our publishing partners worldwide
- Interactive LiveCharts for economic and business indicators that let researchers generate their own analyses and custom charts for reports and presentations
Washington Post (The, May 2016 - Present) This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post, the morning daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C., a dominant newspaper in the U.S. capital. It is one of the major newspapers in the United States.

University Library

BUS 5995 Business Administration Project

Researching Nonprofits, Private or Local Businesses

Databases for Nonprofits

Databases for Local Organizations