LibGuides: Mathematics: Find Sources

Databases

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Is a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.
MathSciNet provides access to all published years of 'Mathematical Reviews (MR)' and 'Current Mathematical Publications (CMP),' all of which are produced by the American Mathematical Society (AMS). The full text of all MR reviews from 1940 to the present is available on MathSciNet. CMP is a subject index of bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. All items in MR appear first in CMP, and most items in CMP are later reviewed in MR. MR provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research. Approximately 1800 current serials and journals are reviewed in whole or in part.
Coverage: 1940 - the present. Updated daily (CMP) and monthly (corresponding to the print edition of MR).

arXiv.org
arXiv includes electronic pre-prints from the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, statistics, economics, and more.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary database which includes 64 mathematics journals. Journals include American Journal of Mathematics, Math Horizons, and more. Use the advanced search to narrow down to articles for a generalized audience.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect offers access to 1,358 Mathematics related publications (books and journals). You can explore by subject or use the search bar.
Features:
- Index with abstracts to over 1,700 scientific journals published by Elsevier. At CSULA our use of this database permits access to over 900 Elsevier journals in full-text online format
- The 900 full-text journals represent all Elsevier journals currently under (print) subscription at all CSU and University of California libraries. These libraries represent the consortium which negotiated this ScienceDirect database subscription. We are not permitted full-text access to the remaining 200 Elsevier journal titles in this collection, but users can retrieve citations and abstracts from these journals using the collection's search interface
- Coverage: Varies from January 1995 - the present; most titles are from 1998 - the present
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering scientific journals, books, conference proceedings, datasets, and funding data dating back to 1970. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts, and humanities. Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
The Scopus Information site contains a wealth of resources including:
• User guides and tips
• Title lists
• Quick tips and Frequently Asked Questions

For more information, visit:
• Scopus LibGuide
• Scopus Blog
• Scopus Search - Tips & Tricks
• Scopus Webinars
• Scopus APIs

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Indexes with abstracts of journal articles, unpublished reports, and other documents in education and related topics.
ERIC is also available via Proquest, OCLC FirstSearch, and at ERIC website with access to full text documents from 1993-present. ERIC consists of two files:
- CIJE - Current Index to Journals in Education which indexes over 750 professional journals - all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an EJ (Eric journal).
- RIE - Resources in Education which indexes a variety of documents; all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an ED (Eric document). OCLC provides access to online full-text ED records via subscription links to EDRS Not all ED documents are available online. Inclusion depends on the authors original copyright agreement with EDRS. Typically 80% of ED documents permit online full-text usage. HINT: on OCLC look for the EDRS link at the bottom of the detailed record.
A variety of help options are available:
Education Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Provides over 750 periodicals including 450 peer-reviewed journals in the fields of education administration, teaching methods, literacy, funding, and more.
Full text coverage begins in 1994, abstracting begins in 1984 and indexing begins in 1983.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Is a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.
MathSciNet provides access to all published years of 'Mathematical Reviews (MR)' and 'Current Mathematical Publications (CMP),' all of which are produced by the American Mathematical Society (AMS). The full text of all MR reviews from 1940 to the present is available on MathSciNet. CMP is a subject index of bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. All items in MR appear first in CMP, and most items in CMP are later reviewed in MR. MR provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research. Approximately 1800 current serials and journals are reviewed in whole or in part.
Coverage: 1940 - the present. Updated daily (CMP) and monthly (corresponding to the print edition of MR).

European Digital Mathematics Library (EuDML)
You can browse by journal or search for specific topics. Many of the resources here include free full-text.
more...less...
EuDML was formed with a network of universities and publishers and is supported by a number of partners including the European Mathematical Society.
The Jahrbuch Project Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics
This archive includes the literature on "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik" (1868-1942) and digitized mathematical publications at the Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen.
Numdam, French Digital Mathematics Library
This library includes journal articles, seminars, conference proceedings, books, and doctoral thesis.

What Are Pre-Prints?

Pre-prints are completed drafts of research papers that are published before they have been peer-reviewed.

ZbMATH
Zentralblatt Math is an abstracting and reviewing service, focusing on applied and pure mathematics. This database includes 4 million bibliographic entries with reviews or abstracts.
Current Index to Statistics (CIS)
CIS is a bibliographic index that covers 160 core journals form 1975 onward.

Journals

The American Mathematical Monthly
The Monthly publishes articles, as well as notes and other features, about mathematics and the profession. Its readers span a broad spectrum of mathematical interests, and include professional mathematicians as well as students of mathematics at all collegiate levels.
The College Mathematics Journal
This journal includes articles, problems, solutions, and media reviews. The Mathematical Association of America publishes this journal.
The Mathematical Gazette
This journal is published by The Mathematical Association and covers from 1894 to 2013. The focus of this journal is the teaching and learning of mathematics.
Mathematical Intelligencer
This journal includes articles about mathematics and the history and culture of mathematics. Articles available from 1993 to present (with 12 month delay).
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Magazine is published by the Mathematical Association of America and includes a high variety of topics i.e., original mathematics and historical content.
Math Horizons
Math Horizons is intended primarily for undergraduates interested in mathematics. Our purpose is to introduce students to the world of mathematics outside the classroom.

Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Published by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. Covers all educations levels: preschool - college.
The Mathematics Teacher
Published by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. The journal focuses on grades 8 - 14.
Mathematics Teacher Educator
Published by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. Journal is specifically focused on being a resource for practitioners.
Mathematics Teaching in Middle School
Published by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. Focused on being a resource for middle school teachers and educators.
Journal of Urban Mathematics Education
Published by Texas A&M University. The focus is on pedagogy and research within urban education.

Archive for History of Exact Sciences
Access available from 1960 onward, excluding the most recent 3 years.
Bulletin: Journal of the British Society for the History of Mathematics
Journal access is available from 2006 to 2017.

Project Euclid
Project Euclid provides a list of currently open and freely available journal titles.
Frontier in Applied Mathematics and Statistics

Web Resources

Open Math Notes
AMS Open Math Notes included downloadable mathematical works in progress; including textbooks, course notes, and research expositions. You can narrow down by topic, level, or notes type.
Wolfram Alpha
Wolfram Alpha includes a number a very useful tools to help with math problem solving.
NIST Digital Library of Mathematics Functions

Collection of Biostatistics Research Archive (COBRA)
COBRA is a repository of biostatistics working papers. 3,198 of the papers available include statistics or probability subjects.

Gröbner Bases Bibliography
This bibliography collects all journals, articles, books, surveys, etc. on Gröbner bases theory and related topics.
Real Algebraic and Analytic Geometry
This server hosts preprint articles in theory of Real Algebraic and Analytic Geometry.

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan

If you can't find an article or book through the library, then you can use CSU+ in OneSearch or Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy of your article or book for free from another library. You will need to register the first time you use Interlibrary Loan. We recommend using CSU+ first as you will typically get your material quicker than with Interlibrary Loan.

You can view additional FAQ on the CSU+ and ILL Topic Page.

University Library

Mathematics

Databases

Journals

Web Resources

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan