Library Databases for WGSS 5000

Cal State LA Library

A-Z databases

Use one or more of the following databases to find journal articles, newspaper articles, etc. The full list of available databases/indexes can be found using the link on the library homepage. You can find a list of databases related to WGSS research by selecting Women and Gender Studies under All Subjects.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service includes peer-reviewed articles, books, government documents, reports, conference papers, web content, and more with a focus on public administration, including social conditions and public policy.

JSTOR
Interdisciplinary database often including scholarly archival content but not access to current publications.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great starting place for any research topic. Includes a wealth of peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on a wide range of topics and disciplinary areas.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary collection that supports women's studies, gender studies, LGBTQ studies, and family studies. Includes peer-reviewed articles; non-scholarly popular articles such as newspapers and magazines; dissertations and theses; reports, trade publications, and conference proceedings.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles and eBooks in the humanities and social sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in sociology, psychology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.

One Search

Use One Search to see what articles we have in our collection. You can also request articles (that we don't own) from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan. Just click on peer-reviewed journals on the left-hand side to limit your search to scholarly articles.

Finding the Full Text of an Article from a Database Search

Library databases enable you to retrieve the full-text of an article, either by clicking the full-text link or the button for the article you want.

Does the database you are searching in provide this article in PDF or HTML full-text?

If so, click on the full text link to save and/or print the full article and export the article citation to Refworks.

If not, click on to learn how to locate the article in full-text. This page will let you know if:

1. The article you are looking for is available in another database

2. If the article is not available in another database, you can submit a request to get the article using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL is a service where the library gets an electronic copy of the article for you for free and sends you a notification to your email.

Searching Multiple Ebsco Databases at Once

Search multiple databases at once by clicking on choose databases within an Ebsco database:

Scroll over the bubble next to the database name to see a brief description of what types of resources are included:

Select as many databases as you like and click