LibGuides: BIOL 3200: Writing for Biologists: Find Sources

Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect hosts over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books—over 14 million peer-reviewed publications..
Features:
- Index with abstracts to over 1,700 scientific journals published by Elsevier. At CSULA our use of this database permits access to over 900 Elsevier journals in full-text online format
- The 900 full-text journals represent all Elsevier journals currently under (print) subscription at all CSU and University of California libraries. These libraries represent the consortium which negotiated this ScienceDirect database subscription. We are not permitted full-text access to the remaining 200 Elsevier journal titles in this collection, but users can retrieve citations and abstracts from these journals using the collection's search interface
- Coverage: Varies from January 1995 - the present; most titles are from 1998 - the present
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 30 journal publications by the American Chemical Society.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains nearly 7.7 million archival records with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
Select the database from All Databases pull-down list.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library includes scholarly publications in science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences with access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 20,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content in library subscription databases, from PubMed Central, and publisher web sites.
GUIDES:
The PubMed User Guide provides the information in search, cite, save, share, and other areas. Please visit the Guide for guidance. To learn more about how to navigate PubMed, visit PubMed Tutorial.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering scientific journals, books, conference proceedings, datasets, and funding data dating back to 1970. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts, and humanities. Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
The Scopus Information site contains a wealth of resources including:
• User guides and tips
• Title lists
• Quick tips and Frequently Asked Questions

For more information, visit:
• Scopus LibGuide
• Scopus Blog
• Scopus Search - Tips & Tricks
• Scopus Webinars
• Scopus APIs

Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The collection includes millions of full-text articles that includes national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content.
Science In Context showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in medicine, microbiology, nursing, psychiatry, public health, sports medicine, and more - over 4,800 journals (Note: Full-text linking available on and off campus). Medline is also available via OCLC, and at PubMed.
Index with abstracts to more than 4,500 journals published worldwide in 30 languages, covering all areas of medicine (including nursing, public health, pharmacy, sports medicine, psychiatry, dentistry, veterinary medicine, etc.).
Look up all the abbreviated journal names used in MEDLINE in List of Journals Indexed in Index Medicus/MEDLINE.
1966 to date. Updated monthly.

Guides
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Comprised of 600 scholarly and general interest titles in index and abstract format, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. Coverage: 1913-current.
Biological & Agricultural Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains citations also links to PDF page images, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations in biological and agricultural areas.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content in library subscription databases, from PubMed Central, and publisher web sites.
GUIDES:
The PubMed User Guide provides the information in search, cite, save, share, and other areas. Please visit the Guide for guidance. To learn more about how to navigate PubMed, visit PubMed Tutorial.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides over 20,000 indexed and abstracted journals including 6,600 full-text journals and magazines, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. PDF content dating back to 1887.
To see which titles are available in full-text, as well as the names of all titles indexed and abstracted, check the EBSCOhost Database Coverage List and Title List by Subject . Updated daily.
Sage Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Sage Premier Collection provides access to over 1,000 Sage journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.

What do you mean it's open? An open database includes open access articles. Open access articles are free, immediately available articles.

Agricola
Contains citations and abstracts to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Covers 1970-present.
Biodiversity Heritage Library The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
California Natural Diversity Database
A program that inventories the status and locations of rare plants and animals in California.
F1000 Research
F1000Research is an Open Research Publishing platform for life scientists, offering immediate publication of articles and other research outputs.
PLOS
The Public Library of Science provides free access to the full-text of all of their highly rated journals.
Biomed Central
BioMed Central is an open access database and part of Springer Nature. Disciplines include biomedicine in the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines.

Biology Journals

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan

If you can't find an article or book through the library, then you can use CSU+ in OneSearch or Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy of your article or book for free from another library. You will need to register the first time you use Interlibrary Loan. We recommend using CSU+ first as you will typically get your material quicker than with Interlibrary Loan.

You can view additional FAQ on the CSU+ and ILL Topic Page.

University Library

BIOL 3200: Writing for Biologists

Librarian

Databases

Biology Journals

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan