LibGuides: Chemistry & Biochemistry: Find Articles and More!

Databases and Journals

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 30 journal publications by the American Chemical Society.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
Indexes 16,000 journals. This database does not use descriptors, subject headings, or have any genuine abstracts. Includes business, medicine, science, technology, the humanities, popular culture, technology, and social science subjects.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content in library subscription databases, from PubMed Central, and publisher web sites.
GUIDES:
The PubMed User Guide provides the information in search, cite, save, share, and other areas. Please visit the Guide for guidance. To learn more about how to navigate PubMed, visit PubMed Tutorial.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) provides free access to chemical and property data for over 70,000 compounds. Information includes CAS registry numbers, synonyms, and structures.

ChemIDplus This link opens in a new window
Is a dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies.
ChemIDplus Lite is designed for simple searching on name or registry. ChemIDplus Advanced helps users draw their own structures and perform similarity and substructure searches. The records are updated daily.

Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The collection includes millions of full-text articles that includes national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content.
Science In Context showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library includes scholarly publications in science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences with access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 20,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect hosts over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books—over 14 million peer-reviewed publications..
Features:
- Index with abstracts to over 1,700 scientific journals published by Elsevier. At CSULA our use of this database permits access to over 900 Elsevier journals in full-text online format
- The 900 full-text journals represent all Elsevier journals currently under (print) subscription at all CSU and University of California libraries. These libraries represent the consortium which negotiated this ScienceDirect database subscription. We are not permitted full-text access to the remaining 200 Elsevier journal titles in this collection, but users can retrieve citations and abstracts from these journals using the collection's search interface
- Coverage: Varies from January 1995 - the present; most titles are from 1998 - the present
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering scientific journals, books, conference proceedings, datasets, and funding data dating back to 1970. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts, and humanities. Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
The Scopus Information site contains a wealth of resources including:
• User guides and tips
• Title lists
• Quick tips and Frequently Asked Questions

For more information, visit:
• Scopus LibGuide
• Scopus Blog
• Scopus Search - Tips & Tricks
• Scopus Webinars
• Scopus APIs

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides over 20,000 indexed and abstracted journals including 6,600 full-text journals and magazines, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. PDF content dating back to 1887.
To see which titles are available in full-text, as well as the names of all titles indexed and abstracted, check the EBSCOhost Database Coverage List and Title List by Subject . Updated daily.
Sage Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Sage Premier Collection provides access to over 1,000 Sage journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.

ACS Central Science
ACS Central Science publishes the most compelling, important primary reports on research in chemistry and in allied fields, wherein chemical approaches play a key role.
ACS Omega
ACS Omega is an open-access global publication for scientific articles that describe new findings in chemistry and interfacing areas of science, without any perceived evaluation of immediate impact.
Biomed Centeral (BMC)
BMC is the open access (O.A) area of Springer Nature. There are a number of O.A. chemistry journal in BMC, including Chemistry Central Journal, Journal of Cheminformatics, and Biotechnology for Biofuels.
bioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. The scope includes biochemistry.
Frontiers
Frontiers is an open access publisher with several chemistry journals. Examples include Chemistry and Materials journals.
Open Access in ScienceDirect
You can search for journals with open access through ScienceDirect. Select open access under the access type filter. Covers topics in chemistry, chemical engineering and biochemistry.
PLOS
Features seven open access journals: PLOS ONE, PLOS BIOLOGY, PLOS MEDICINE, PLOS COMPUTATIONAL BIOLOGY, PLOS GENETICS, PLOS NEGLECTED TROPICAL DISEASES, AND PLOS PATHOGENS
The Royal Society of Chemistry Open Access Journals
Chemical Science, Nanoscale Advances, and RSC Advances are all open access journals available through RSC online.

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan

If you can't find an article or book through the library, then you can use CSU+ in OneSearch or Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy of your article or book for free from another library. You will need to register the first time you use Interlibrary Loan. We recommend using CSU+ first as you will typically get your material quicker than with Interlibrary Loan.

You can view additional FAQ on the CSU+ and ILL Topic Page.

Web Resources

NIST Chemistry WebBook
The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides chemical and physical property data for atoms, molecules, ions, and other chemical species.It also includes IR, 15K mass, and 1.6 UV/Vis spectra.
PubChem
PubChem is maintained by the NIH and offers information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data.
Table of Physical and Chemical Constants
Thermodynamic, electrical, mechanical, acoustical data are just some of the types of data. All charts, tables, formulas, and graphs are included (Currano & Roth, 2014, p. 162).

Know-it-all
This software is free and offered from Bio-Rad. you can draw structures, perform IR and Raman functional group analysis, and generate high-quality reports.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
This database is provided by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology. Users can search by compound name, molecular weight, or CAS registry number. IR, NMR, MS< Raman, and ESR spectra are available.
Peptide Atlas
This website offers a compendium of peptides identified from tandem mass spectrometery proteomics experiments.
SpectraBase
This website includes NMR, IR, UV-Vis, and Mass spectra. It allows you to upload your own spectrum for comparison.

PAN Pesticide Database
This database is provided by the Pesticide Action Network. Users can search by chemicals, products, and poisoning diagnostic information.
Toxicology Literature in PubMed
Additional Toxicology Information Locations

The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)
CSD includes over 900,000 entries for small-molecule crystal structures.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider allows users to search over 25 million structures.

University Library

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Librarian

Databases and Journals

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan

Web Resources