LibGuides: Biology: Find Sources

Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles and ebooks in a wide range of the sciences and social sciences.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text articles, citations, and links to PDF page images, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations in biological, agricultural, veterinary science, wildlife management, and environmental science areas.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations of articles in biology and agricultural research. This is a valuable tool for those studying the agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management, and environmental science. Also includes information on alternatives to animal testing. Select the database from the “Search in” pull-down list.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for peer-reviewed research in health sciences, mental health, public health, and a wide range of biomedical research areas. Can be used to find eBooks, clinical trials results, systematic reviews, meta-analysis, randomized controlled trials, and case studies.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, reviews, books, and conference proceedings in various disciplines of science, including physical and life sciences.
Environmental Science and History, by Wiley Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials such as documents, records, images, data sets, range and distribution maps, drawings, photographs, and slides (including insect, fungus, and botanical specimen slides). The collection includes materials from the Ecological Society of America, the Royal Entomological Society, and more.

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 30 journal publications by the American Chemical Society.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in medicine, microbiology, nursing, psychiatry, public health, sports medicine, and more
Index with abstracts to more than 4,500 journals published worldwide in 30 languages, covering all areas of medicine (including nursing, public health, pharmacy, sports medicine, psychiatry, dentistry, veterinary medicine, etc.).
Look up all the abbreviated journal names used in MEDLINE in List of Journals Indexed in Index Medicus/MEDLINE.
1966 to date. Updated monthly.

Guides
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and reference works on wide range of disciplines including health, physical sciences, social sciences, the humanities, and more.
AnatomyTV This link opens in a new window
Includes the following four modules: 3D Atlas (detailed regional overview of the human body from head to toe, including 3D views, clinical text, dissection slides and videos, animations, MRI correlations and quizzes); Functional Anatomy (sports injuries, exercises and training); Clinical Specialty (speech language pathology and audiology); and Therapy (acupuncture and hand therapy).
Tutorials
For more helpful features, click on the question mark icon on the top-left part of the page within the AnatomyTV interface.

3D Atlas/Other 3D Human modules (will cover 3D Atlas, SLP, Audiology and some of the other modules):
3D Human Functional Anatomy (includes all modules under the Functional Anatomy tab):
- Primal Pictures 3D Human Functional Anatomy Quick Start Guide (video demo)
- Primal Pictures 3D Human Functional Anatomy (PDF)
GeoBase This link opens in a new window
Offers bibliographic details and abstracts of peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles covering various subjects, including human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics, and development studies.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, government and general-interest non-scholarly articles with content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great starting place for any research topic. Includes a wealth of peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on a wide range of topics and disciplinary areas.
Sage Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select ebooks and other materials.

Agricola
Contains citations and abstracts to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Covers 1970-present.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Biomed Central
Biomed Central is a part of Springer Nature and has over 300 peer-reviewed journals.
California Natural Diversity Database
A program that inventories the status and locations of rare plants and animals in California.
F1000 Research
F1000Research is an Open Research Publishing platform for life scientists, offering immediate publication of articles and other research outputs.
PLOS
The Public Library of Science provides free access to the full-text of all of their highly rated journals.

bioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. The scope includes biochemistry.

Biology Journals

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan

If you can't find an article or book through the library, then you can use CSU+ in OneSearch or Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy of your article or book for free from another library. You will need to register the first time you use Interlibrary Loan. We recommend using CSU+ first as you will typically get your material quicker than with Interlibrary Loan.

You can view additional FAQ on the CSU+ and ILL Topic Page.