LibGuides: Spanish: Find Articles

About Databases

This page lists databases most useful for finding scholarly articles and book chapters, including Spanish databases.

Why use databases? Since you are doing research within a specific subject, using databases can help you eliminate undesired, irrelevant articles.

Search Tips for ML&L Students

Spanish-Specific Databases

HAPI This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, documents, reviews, bibliographies, original literary works, and other items in over 400 journals published throughout the world containing information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Coverage: 1970-present
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, Chicano Database is a bibliographic index covering a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants from 1992 onward.
Incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, a comprehensive resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window
Is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. It is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. The HLAS alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the disciplines of Anthropology (including Archaeology, Ethnohistory and Ethnology), Art, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, History, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology.
Coverage: 1935-present
INFORME ACADEMICO This link opens in a new window
Informe Académico provides access to a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.
Informe Académico provides quality reference material—not simply translations of English-language materials—on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Fuente Académica Plus This link opens in a new window
Fuente Académica Plus is the most complete database of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals. It provides journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain covering all major subject areas, including agriculture, economics, history, law, literature, psychology, and sociology.

SciELO
The SciELO collection is continually updated and includes scholarly peer reviewed journals, from Spain, Portugal, several South American countries and Cuba, which predominantly publish the results of original research, and other original works.
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Largest open-access repository of digitized Spanish language historical texts and literature from the Ibero-American world. Includes books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, dissertations, images, and audiovisual resources.

Other Useful Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in literature, language, folklore, and linguistics - over 4,000 U.S. and international journals.
Coverage: 1880s to present

The MLA Bibliography contains detailed bibliographic information on scholarly publications from around the world and across a broad range of topics, including
- Literature from any country and in any language
- Literary theory and criticism
- Dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater)
- Folklore
- Linguistics
- College-level teaching of language, literature, and rhetoric and composition
- History of printing and publishing
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers interdisciplinary content including approximately 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provide access to full-text scholarly journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences with over 120 publishers currently participating.
View the List of Journals Covered
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Coves the field of linguistics and its various sub-disciplines, LLBA primarily abstracts articles from approximately 2,600 periodicals published worldwide. It also abstracts monographs, recent books, technical reports and more.
Subjects Covered
- Anthropological Linguistics
- Applied Linguistics
- Descriptive Linguistics
- Discourse Analysis / Text Linguistics
- Hearing and Speech Physiology
- Hearing - Pathological and Normal
- History of Linguistics
- Interpersonal Behavior and Communication
- Language Classification
- Language - Pathological and Normal
- Learning Disabilities
- Lexicography / Lexicology
- Mental Retardation
- Morphology
- Nonverbal Communication
- Orthography, Writing Systems
- Philosophy of Language
- Phonetics
- Phonology
- Poetics / Literary Theory
- Psycholinguistics
- Psychometrics
- Semantics
- Semiotics
- Sociolinguistics
- Special Education
- Syntax
- Theory of Linguistics
- Typology
Guides:
- IDS Search Help: Overview
- LLBA Fact Sheet

All Databases (A-Z List)

All Databases
Want more options? Go to the library's Database page to browse 300+ databases.

GoogleScholar

GoogleScholar searches the entire web for scholarly materials.

Downside of using Google Scholar:

There is no way to search for only peer-reviewed articles in academic journals.
It lists unpublished works, such as dissertations or theses, without a way to filter them out.
You will get millions of results organized by popularity (highest cited).

Upsides of using Google Scholar:

You can easily search for an article by title.
You can press the "cited by" button to find similar articles and to see who else has cited the article.
Google Scholar can recognize you as a Cal State LA student so you have better access to articles (see below)

How to get Google Scholar to recognize you are a Cal State LA Student:

If Google Scholar knows you are a Cal State LA student, you will see "Find it @ Cal State LA" links, pictured below.

If you are on-campus, access Google Scholar from the library home page to ensure you are connected to Cal State LA's articles.

If you are off-campus, access Google Scholar from the library home page. If you do not go through the library homepage, make sure you add Cal State LA to your institutions:

University Library

Spanish

About Databases

Spanish-Specific Databases

Other Useful Databases

All Databases (A-Z List)

GoogleScholar