Provides access to more than 150,000 full-text poems and over 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary are also included
Twentieth-Century North American Drama: Second Edition contains 2,050+ plays from the United States and Canada. Study events of the twentieth century—including the Depression, the role of women, the Cold War, and more—through the plays and performances of writers who lived through these decades.
Latin American Drama includes plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. The collection supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigration issues, and political history. Although the collection includes materials from the 19th century, the vast majority of works are from the period spanning the Chicano Renaissance to present day.
North American Indian Drama, Second Edition brings together 250+ full-text plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century.
Black Drama contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.
Theatre in America has had a rich history--from the first performance of the Lewis Hallam Troupe in September 1752 to the lively shows of modern Broadway. Over the past few centuries, significant works by American playwrights have been produced, including Abie's Irish Rose, Long Day's Journey into Night, A Streetcar Named Desire, Death of a Salesman, A Raisin in the Sun, Fences, and Angels in America.
This anthology has its origins in the Encuentro theater festival, which was produced by the Latino Theater Company in association with the Latinx Theatre Commons in Los Angeles in 2014. Encuentro means "an encounter," and meetings form a core theme in these six groundbreaking plays, each prefaced by a critical introduction from a leading Latinx theater scholar.
A brand-new collection of original audition pieces written by and for actors of colour, commissioned by Tamasha Theatre Company and edited by Titilola Dawudu, with a foreword by Noma Dumezweni. Hear Me Now is a unique collection of over eighty original audition monologues, expressly created by a range of award-winning writers brought together by producer Titilola Dawudu and Tamasha Theatre Company. They're ideal for actors of colour searching for speeches for auditions or training, writers, teachers, and theatre-makers who are passionate about improving diversity.
Not your typical book of monologues, this new collection embodies the mission of The Kilroys, an advocacy group founded in 2013 to raise awareness for the underutilized work of female and female-identifying playwrights. The collection is comprised of monologues from "The List-- the result of an industry survey to locate the most highly-regarded, underproduced plays by women and trans playwrights.
100 Monologues collects all of Eric Bogosian's monologues, originally performed as part of his six off-Broadway solo shows, including Sex, Drugs, Rock & Roll; Pounding Nails in the Floor with my Forehead; Wake Up and Smell the Coffee; Drinking in America; Funhouse; Men Inside and selections from his play Talk Radio. For these solo shows, first performed between 1980 and 2000, Bogosian was awarded three Obie awards and a Drama Desk award.
(Applause Acting Series). Lawrence Harbison has selected 100 terrific monologues for men from contemporary plays, all by characters between the ages of 18 and 35 perfect for auditions or class. There are comic monologues (laughs) and dramatic monologues (no laughs). Most have a compelling present-tense action for actors to perform. A few are story monologues and they're great stories. Actors will find pieces by star playwrights such as Don Nigro, Itamar Moses, Stephen Adly Guirgis, and Terence McNally; by exciting up-and-comers such as Nicole Pandolfo, Peter Sinn Nachtrieb, Crystal Skillman, Greg Kalleres, Reina Hardy, and J. Thalia Cunningham; and information on getting the complete text of each play. This is a must-have resource in the arsenal of every aspiring actor hoping to knock 'em dead with his contemporary piece after bowling over teachers and casting directors alike with a classical excerpt.
This book is organized a little differently than most published collections of monologues. Each chapter is arranged in several sections: About the Playwright, List of Plays, Playwright Information, Performing the Monologues, The Monologues.