English and foreign language dictionaries and thesaurus - over 230 foreign language dictionaries. Additional features: Thesaurus,Quotes , Flashcard tutorials and more.
The site includes direct "look-up" access to:
the full-text of the Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
This site also includes online links to:
Online translation programs.
Grammars of hundreds of languages.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. Updated quarterly with at least 1000 new and revised entries.
An interactive dictionary and thesaurus which creates word maps that blossom with meanings and branch to related words. Its innovative display encourages exploration and learning. You'll understand language in a powerful new way.
Encyclopedia Databases
Encyclopedias are a great starting point for research. They can provide you with:
an overview of a topic
keywords and terms that are used in that field or subject area (you can use these terms to do searches in the library catalog and databases)
the names of important people in that field or subject area
Offers an online collection of premier reference eBooks including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection.
The collection contains the following subjects: art, biography, business, education, environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic encyclopedia published as a project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information at Stanford University.
In a dynamic encyclopedia, each entry is maintained and kept up to date on a routine, frequent basis by an expert or group of experts in the field.
Encyclopedia Complete text of the acclaimed Canadian Encyclopedia in English and French, the text of the Junior Encyclopedia of Canada (in English only), numerous interactivities, feature articles, timelines, quizzes and more.
A comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship, The Encyclopedia of Ancient History covers the entire ancient Mediterranean world. It contains over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE.
Combines the features of an annotated bibliography and an encyclopedia, this resource guides researchers to the available scholarship in Education. Each entry is a selective guided tour through the key literature on the topic, and is designed to facilitate a research experience.
