LibGuides: Reference Sources (Encyclopedias &amp; more): Data &amp; Statistics

Business, Industry & Market Statistics

D & B Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Provides industry benchmarks for hundreds of public and private companies. It includes 14 key business ratios, such as solvency, efficiency, and profitability, for 800 different lines of business. Users can choose between a one-year or three-year set of ratios.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 75 authoritative government and private sources.
The database allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. LibGuides: http://data-planet.libguides.com

There are over 250 LibGuides on a variety of states, countries, and content.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Offers U.S. industry research and analysis for 700 market segments, aiding in market understanding, competitor analysis, business planning, benchmarking, forecasting, valuations, litigation support, and due diligence. It includes industry statistics, trends, procurement analysis, price trends, supply chain risks, and supplier benchmarks, with reports typically 25–30 pages long and regularly updated.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Quality business reports encompassing company profiles, market reports, industry outlooks, and economic and demographic conditions globally, covering all continents and major industries.
MarketLine provides statistical modelling functions, interactive reports and databases along with an integrated news service updated on a daily basis. It is a dynamic access point to the world of market intelligence. It can be used in management and marketing courses, especially those with an innovation, entrepreneurship or global focus. In terms of student use: it would provide critical information for drafting assignments related to market plans or new business plans. This database could also be useful for finance classes that deal with investing, especially investing in global markets or emerging economies and industries. The country information could additionally be useful in economics classes.
MarketLine Tutorial
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Information for 25,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchanges and 20,000 non-U.S. companies .
Each company report incorporates up-to-the-minute news items. The Archives Data holds the full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward for U.S. companies and 1995 forward for non-U.S. companies. The database also includes a annual report collection for more than 40, 000 U.S. companies.
Company coverage in the Mergent Online includes: history, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, business, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, news reports, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, exchange and ticker symbol, annual stock price ranges, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, dividend payment history, income statement, cash flow statement, balance sheet, contact information, auditors, and qualified auditors report.

NOTE: Mergent Online is currently not compatible with Netscape 4.7 or older browsers. If you are currently using Netscape 4.7 or older or you are an Apple Mac or Macintosh user, please contact Mergent technical support staff at 1-800-955-8080 or 212-413-7744 or mail them at mailto:technicalsupport@mergent.com.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Provides investment information on mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, closed-end funds, securities, and in-depth background and analyst opinions on top investments.
ValueLine Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
A stock analysis newsletter that provides information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. The survey also includes stock screeners, ratings, and research reports on the leading stocks.
For each stock it offers one to five years probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.

The Survey contains three main sections:
- The Ratings & Reports section contains company reports, Value Line's Timeliness, Safety, and Technical ranks, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and much more.
- The Summary & Index contains an index of all stocks in the publication as well as many up-to-date statistics.
- The Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups of interesting and attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics.

Demographics & Social Science

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 75 authoritative government and private sources.
The database allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. LibGuides: http://data-planet.libguides.com

There are over 250 LibGuides on a variety of states, countries, and content.
FedStats This link opens in a new window
U.S. federal statistics produced by over 100 federal agencies.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
A standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Data (1790-2000) includes history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
U.S. Census statistics on population, health, education, employment, public aid, and more. Data is available through 2011.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States web site contains statistical tables from the print version of the Statistical Abstract, tables from USA Statistics in Brief, tables giving state rankings (in population, health, education, employment, public aid, social security, income, crime, energy, business, federal funds, motor vehicles), state and county statistical profiles, and tables giving economic statistics for the United States.
There is a special page highlighting all Frequently Requested Tables from the Frequently Requested Tables from the Statistical Abstract

NOTE: IMPORTANT: If you do not know EXACTLY which number table you want, use the INDEX at the end of the Table of Contents!

Education Statistics

Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
A comprehensive collection of policy briefs, research and data related to early childhood education.
Common Core of Data
A comprehensive, annual, national statistical database of information on public schools and school districts in the United States.
Condition of Education
Kids Count
A national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the U.S. A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation.
National Center for Education Statistics
Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the U. S. and other nations.
National Science Foundation: Science & Engineering Statistics
Data on science education in the United States.
Resource Center for Minority Data
Provides data resources for the comparative analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States.

Health Statistics

Health Statistics
by Adele Dobry Last Updated Jan 22, 2024 138 views this year