LibGuides: Reference Sources (Encyclopedias &amp; more): Home

What are reference sources?

Reference sources are a way to quickly look-up information and are a great way to get to know a topic before conducting more in-depth research. Types of reference sources include:

Almanacs (Facts & Statistics)
Dictionaries (Definitions)
Encyclopedias (Concise info on a variety of subjects. Can also cover a single subject/topic in more detail)
Maps & Atlases (Geographical Information)
Thesaurus (Synonyms)

Major Reference Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Non-scholarly reports and analysis on issues in the news. Reports are written by journalists and professionally fact-checked. Each report includes an introductory overview, background and timeline, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, a pro/con debate, and a list of further reading.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an ideal starting point for research with curated, authoritative reference sources that provide a firm foundation for understanding a topic.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. Includes definitions, meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of premier reference eBooks including quotations, language dictionaries, encyclopedias, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Ulrich's Web This link opens in a new window
A directory that provides detailed information on a wide range of publications, including academic journals, open-access publications, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world. It covers all subjects and is a good tool for determining the type of content, such as if it's peer-reviewed.