Skip to main content
university logo

University Library

History

Find Books and eBooks

At this time, the library is not offering access to physical items. We hope to provide access soon. For the most up to date information about library services including accessing physical books at the library updates guide page.

Yellow and grey OneSearch logo

Search for all different types of materials including books & eBooks, articles, streaming videos, theses, and more all one place! Search the Library OneSearch Now

Locating eBooks

Use the filters on the left side to narrow your search to Full-Text Online under Available at Cal State LA, and Books under Resource Type (you may have to click show more to see books).

OneSearch options for locating eBooks

 

Select Remember All Filters to keep your filters while you try new searches

 

Arrow pointing to option to remember all filters

 

Click the blue link to access the book. Check the user options- some books have unlimited access, but others can only be used by one person at a time and may require you to check back after the other reader has left the book.

book record with link to read

Request Book Chapters From Other Libraries (ILL)

CSULA Library ILLiad Interlibrary Loan Service

The library also offers Interlibrary loan for digital access single book chapters and electronic articles from institutions all over the country.

  • First time users - create an account here
  • Under New Request, select book chapter
  • Fill out the form
  • Allow up to 10 business days for processing
  • Log into your ILL Account to check the status
  • You will get an email letting you know the PDF is ready to download
  • Download the PDF within 30days, downloads never expire

Finding Theses and Dissertations

The library keeps a copy of all the masters theses that have been written by CSULA students. Print copies prior to 2012 are available in Archives and Special Collections, and digital theses beginning Fall Quarter 2011 are available in the CSULA Digital Repository.

Search for theses and dissertations from CSULA and other universities using OneSearch

  • Type search criteria like the subject, and hit 'Search' (ex. education).
  • Narrow the resource type to Theses & Dissertations
  • Select available in the library for print copies here at CSULA using the filters on the left hand side

In addition, check out these databases of digital theses and dissertations:

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Reference

Google Books

Searching Google Books to Find Whether a Book Is Full-Text Online

  • Enter a book title or keywords, e.g.

    The Beaver Men: Spearheads of Empire

    At the search result page, click the book title to see whether the book is full-text online.

    Click "Find in a Library" link to see if the book is available in our library or a local library.

Searching WorldCat to Find Books in Other Libraries

WorldCat is a  global catalog of library collections. Open WorldCat--Let you find books near you by zip code. WorldCat--let you find books by library and request them via Interlibrary Loan.  

Open WorldCat
Access from
http://www.worldcat.org, or from the library web homepage, click on Search Other Libraries.

  • Enter a book title or keywords
  • At the results display page, enter your zip code , and you will get a list of libraries near you that own this book
  • Click on the book link by the library name where you plan to go and find out the book status (whether it is in the library)WorldCat

WorldCat
Access from Library Database A-Z list, or from the library web homepage, click on Search Other Libraries.
 

  • Enter a book title or keywords
  • At teh record display page, click on the link "Libraries worldwide that own item" to see if CSULA Library owns the book. If the Library does not own the book, you should click on the Findit Button button to get the book via Interlibrary Loan.

 

Find Book Reviews

Book reviews can be helpful in evaluating books or understanding how a book was received during its time.  In this sense reviews of current and modern books can help you gain some understanding of interpretations of the book, the validity of the research, and how it fits in with the scholarship in the topic area it covers.  Current reviews can easily be found using OneSearch and subject specific databases. Search for a title or author, or using your topic and narrowing to 'reviews'.

Reviews on books published in other time periods can help you understand how to book was received at the time and the views of the society that it belonged to. Reviewed published before the 1980's may require using an index either in print or online to discover.

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988