LibGuides: History: Statistics & Data

Websites for Statistics

CA Department of Public Health Data & Statistics
Access to public health data and information, such as queries, resources, statistics, surveys, informatics, GIS, and health indicators.
CA Dept of Education Statistics
Data and statistics collected from California schools and learning support resources to identify trends and educational needs and to measure performance.
CA Health and Human Services Open Data Portal
Non confidential health and human services data that can be easily retrieved, combined, downloaded, sorted, searched, and analyzed.
Data LA
Open datasets to analyze and create visualizations with from all LA agencies.
LA Homless Services Count
Data sets and service planning areas for homelessness in LA.
CA Geoportal
The California Geoportal provides easy and convenient ways to discover and share geospatial data resources.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides statistics on crime trends, homicide trends and characteristics, law enforcement management and administration.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics on inflation, career outlook, unemployment, pay, and productivity.
Census Survey of Business Owners
The Survey of Business Owners (SBO) provides the only comprehensive, regularly collected source of information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Data & Statistics
Data and statistics from the CDC organized by disease.
Envirofacts
Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) portal for statistics and data on air, water, land, and pollution.
General Social Survey (GSS)
Since 1972, the GSS has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.
National Center for Educational Statistics (NCES)
Educational statistics from early childhood through postsecondary education.
Pew Research Center
Public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. Topics range from politics, technology, social trends, religion, science, and race and ethnicity.
Statistical Briefing Book
The SBB enables users to access online information to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system.
U. S. Census Bureau

CIA World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
A source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
World Bank Data
Data is accessible by country, indicator, or topic, or via a specific database such as World Development Indicators, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, the Poverty and Equity Database, or one of many others.
World Health Organization Statistics
The World Health Statistics series is WHO’s annual compilation of health statistics for its 194 Member States.

Databases

FedStats This link opens in a new window
U.S. federal statistics produced by over 100 federal agencies.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
A standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Data (1790-2000) includes history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 75 authoritative government and private sources.
The database allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. LibGuides: http://data-planet.libguides.com

There are over 250 LibGuides on a variety of states, countries, and content.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
A web-based mapping application for creating maps, charts, and reports with demographic, business, and marketing data. It offers over 200,000 data variables. Some of the features include: interactive maps, ranking tables, local data, visual maps, and a business and competitor finder.
The maps can be exported as high-resolution images for use in reports and presentations, and data can be exported into Microsoft Excel worksheets and Microsoft Word documents. It includes target marketing, advertising campaigns, commercial and residential real estate development, retail store site selection, ranking studies, and social and demographic analyses.

Access Limitation: This database allows five concurrent access at a time. Instruction faculty: please contact your liaison librarians should you need to use the database for class instruction.

Help
- SimplyAnalytics Help Center
- SimplyAnalytics Data Documentation

Books for Statistics

Historical Statistics of the States of the United States by Donald B. Dodd
Call Number: Level 2 North HA214 .D63 1993
ISBN: 9780313283093
Publication Date: 1993-11-16
This volume is a census-focused compilation of state-level population, agriculture, and manufacturing data for the fifty states and the District of Columbia. Thus it fills a gap in the historical statistics provided by the government publication, Historical Statistics of the United States (1975).
Datapedia of the United States by George Thomas Kurian; Bernan Press Staff
Call Number: eBook & Print Level 2 North HA202 .K87 2001
ISBN: 9780890592564
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
Datapedia presents the best available data on several hundred indicators of social, economic, political, & cultural developments within the nation.
International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-1993 by Brian R. Mitchell
Call Number: Level 2 North HA175 .M55 1998
ISBN: 9781561592357
Publication Date: 2000-11-11
International His Statistics: Europe 1750-1993 by Brian R. Mitchell (Editor); B. R. Mitchell; Brian Mitchell
Call Number: Level 2 North HA155 .M583 1998
ISBN: 9781561592333
Publication Date: 2001-05-18
International His Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1993 by Brian R. Mitchell (Editor); B. R. Mitchell; Brian Mitchell
Call Number: Level 2 North HA4675 .M55 1998
ISBN: 9781561592333
Publication Date: 2001-05-18