History

Locating eBooks in OneSearch

After submitting a search, use the filters on the left side under "Available at Cal State LA"  to narrow your search to Full-Text Online, and Books under Resource Type (you may have to click show more to see books).

Under "Full text available at," click the link to access the book. Check the user options- some books have unlimited access, but others can only be used by one person at a time and may require you to check back after the other reader has left the book.

Books in the library are organized according to the Library of Congress classification system. Each book has a unique call number. They are organized so that similar subjects are next to each other on the shelf. When you find a book that you want in the library's catalog, write down the call number and location.

For example, you would read the call number below like this:

F
839.5
.M347
2013

Main Subject (F = History of the Americas)
Read in alphabetical order
A → B → BF → C → CM → CZ → D…

Sub-Subject (800 = History of California)
Read as whole numbers
10 → 25 → 476 → 1489 → 2000 → 4821…

Code for Author’s Last Name (.M347 = Kevin Mendoza)
Read the letter alphabetically and the number as a decimal (each number place individually)
.L6726 comes before .L72 (i.e. L6 before L7)

Publication Year (2013)
Read in chronological order
1875 → 1915 → 1965 → 2001 → 2012 → 2019…

CSU+

You can request physical books be sent to the library from other Cal State campuses and libraries around the country. This service also includes digital access to single book chapters and electronic articles from institutions sent to you as PDFs. CSU+ is a free service and students and faculty may request as many items as you like!

• In OneSearch, use the drop-down to expand your results to CSU Collections and Beyond
• For items that are listed as "request from another library," log into your library account using your MyCalStateLA info to request the book
• You will be notified by email when the item is ready for pick up
• If you get a cancellation email, try our back-up service Interlibrary Loan.

The library keeps a copy of all the masters theses that have been written by CSULA students. Print copies prior to 2012 are available in Archives and Special Collections, and digital theses beginning Fall Quarter 2011 are available in ScholarWorks. 

Search for theses and dissertations from CSULA and other universities using OneSearch

• Type search criteria like the subject, and hit 'Search' (ex. education).
• Narrow the resource type to Theses & Dissertations
• Select available in the library for print copies here at CSULA using the filters on the left hand side

In addition, check out these databases of digital theses and dissertations:

Searching Google Books to Find Whether a Book Is Full-Text Online

• Access from books.google.com

• Enter a book title or keywords, e.g.
• At the search result page, click the book title to see whether the book is full-text online.
• Click "Find in a Library" link to see if the book is available in our library or a local library.

WorldCat is a global catalog of library collections. You can find books at near by public and university libraries as well as request books be sent from libraries near and far using Interlibrary Loan. 

• Enter a book title or keywords
• At the results display page, enter your zip code , and you will get a list of libraries near you that own this book
• Click on the book link by the library name where you plan to go and find out the book status (whether it is in the library)WorldCat

In the Library OneSearch, when you search for a topic, use the filters to narrow to Book Reviews

Keep in mind peer-reviewed academic book reviews from journals like Civil War History, versus reviews from popular and trade magazines like The Economist

For more information about searching for and creating book reviews, see the guide below: