Our web governance framework is designed to clearly define roles and responsibilities for the ongoing maintenance and development of the University Library websites.
Our web governance structure primarily oversees and supports public sites built using Drupal as our CMS platform:
Consult the Library Web Developer and Designer for:
It does not cover:
Dean: Owner of University Library Drupal website, final authority on major library web development strategies, policies, and content directions.
Head of Technology and Digital Strategies (TDS): Leadership role in the development of policies, procedures and workflows that enhance digital library services; coordinate, develop and implement digital library initiatives.
Office of Strategic Communications: Manages internal and external communications, including marketing, media relations and public information. Its efforts center on building awareness and recognition of the achievements of those in the Cal State LA community and furthering positive relations. Responsible for campus-wide Drupal design changes that may impact the Library’s web design layout.
Information Technology Services (ITS): Provides technical administration, maintenance and accessibility support for all Cal State LA campus websites. Final authority for ensuring all websites adhere to campus policies and ADA accessibility standards. Consulted on major Drupal design change opportunities.
Library Web Developer and Designer: Leadership role in the design, development and maintenance of library web content and information architecture. Serves as the Library’s primary Drupal administrator. Responsible for the implementation of web content strategy following user-centered design principles. Project manager on webpage projects, designer and web copyeditor. Initiates and develops web usability studies to understand and respond to library user needs. Responsible for library’s web adherence to ADA accessibility standards.
Communication Strategist and Event Coordinator: Leadership role in social media strategy and branding, consulted web copyeditor of Drupal page redesigns, produces graphic/visual content, maintains Library’s Calendar of Events, writes and publishes Library news articles. Responsible for promoting and implementing outreach strategies for new web content.
Content Stakeholders: Content owners and experts or their designates that are knowledgeable of web page content.
Community: Faculty, staff, students and members of the local community. Their feedback and engagement help inform the usability and content priorities of the library websites.
A RACI Model is a responsibility matrix that clearly defines the roles and responsibilities of individuals or groups within our organization for each task or decision. Please note: some tasks/responsibilities include multiple "As" and "Rs" due to the collaborative nature of the work. Sub-tasks are intended to clarify high-level responsibilities.
| Task/Responsibility | Library Web Developer & Designer | Communications Strategist & Event Coordinator | Content Stakeholder | Dean/Head of TDS/ITS | Community |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accessibility | R, A, C | I | R | A |
I |
| Implements accessible practices | R | ||||
| Ensures content meets standards | R | ||||
| Maintains WCAG compliance | A | ||||
| Oversees institutional/department compliance | A | ||||
| Branding | R | R, A, C | I | I | I |
| Applies branding in layouts | R | ||||
| Aligns messaging with brand | R | ||||
| Drupal Graphics/Images | R, A | R, A | C | I | I |
| Sources graphics/images | R | ||||
| Creates graphics/images | R | ||||
| Technical integration of images | A | ||||
| Ensures brand consistency | A | ||||
| Drupal Technical Maintenance | R | I | I | A | I |
| Drupal Web Copyediting | R, A, C | I | R, C | I | I |
| Edits for user experience and design impact | R | ||||
| Confirms content accuracy | R | ||||
| Event Announcements | R | R, A | C | I | I |
| Integrates announcements | R | ||||
| Creates and schedules announcements | R | ||||
| Homepage Image Slider | R | R | R, C | A, C | I |
| Technical integration of images | R | ||||
| Creates graphics/images and captions | R | ||||
| Provides links to more information | R | ||||
| Mockups & Prototypes | R, A, C | I | C | I | I |
| News Articles (Blog Posts) | I | R, A | C | I | I |
| Performance Analysis (Web Analytics) | R | I | I | A | I |
| Project Management | R, A | I | I | C | |
| Promotion & Outreach | R | R, A, C | C | I | I |
| Supports visual and technical integration | R | ||||
| Leads messaging and distribution efforts | R | ||||
| User Experience & Information Architecture | R, A, C | I | C | I | C |
| Webforms | R | I | R, C | I | I |
| Develops and maintains webforms | R | ||||
| Supplies form logic and content | R | ||||
| Web Content Integration (third-party tools in Drupal) | R, A, C | I | R | I | I |
| Integrates and configures external tools | R | ||||
| Coordinates tools selection and provides content | R | ||||
| Web Design (Visual and Technical) | R, A, C | I | C | I | I |
| Web Usability Testing (UX/UI) | R, A | I | R, C | I | C |
| Plans and runs usability tests | R | ||||
| Participates in content-related testing efforts | R |
Accessibility: ensuring the website is usable by individuals with a wide range of abilities by adhering to recognized accessibility standards such as WCAG.
Branding: the strategic process of using logos, colors, and imagery to create a unique brand identity. It helps build trust, connection and recognition among website visitors.
Drupal Graphics/Images: the design, selection, and integration of visual assets – such as photos, icons, and graphic illustrations – into the Drupal CMS to improve site aesthetics and user engagement.
Drupal Technical Maintenance: refers to the ongoing process of keeping Drupal backend infrastructure up-to-date, functional, and secure. This includes tasks such as improving performance, applying software and security patches and making sure the site is compatible with the latest web standards.
Drupal Web Copyediting: while traditional copyediting focuses on grammar, punctuation, messaging and tone, web copyediting also prioritizes readability, scannability, accessibility, clarity and user experience for online audiences. It optimizes grammar for SEO and ensures consistent styling and formatting across the site to maintain a cohesive user-friendly experience. It includes formatting text with headings, ensuring copy is simple and easy-to-read, mobile-friendliness and checking that links and multimedia function correctly within the site’s design. It also involves ensuring content is accurate, relevant, and up-to-date, aligning with the overall goal of the page.
Event Announcements: web content that communicates key information about upcoming events, including details such as title, date, time, location and a brief description. This can refer to event pages, or LibCal events calendar, etc.
Homepage Image Slider: a prominent visual feature on the main library website used to highlight key announcements such as budget updates, new services, strategic initiatives, featured collections, and major events. Its primary goal is to provide high-level exposure for time-sensitive and high-impact content. To maintain effectiveness, the slider should be limited to no more than 5 slides at a time, with the most critical or urgent messages appearing first in the rotation. All content must align with campus branding and accessibility standards to ensure clarity, consistency, and broad audience reach.
Mockups & Prototypes: visual or interactive draft representations of a web page or feature (such as a widget) used during the design process to explore layout, functionality, and user experience prior to development or for web usability testing.
News Articles (Blog Posts): writing and publishing updates, stories or announcements within LibGuides Blog to share stories, achievements or important news with the user audience.
Information Architecture: refers to the organizing and structuring of content on a website or app so that it’s easy to find. It involves creating a clear layout and labeling system so users can easily navigate the menu and understand where to find the information they need. Good information architecture helps users quickly find what they're looking for without feeling lost or confused.
Performance Analysis: the process of measuring how well a website is functioning by collecting and looking at data. This information can include how many users visit and how they interact with a site. It helps identify areas in need of improvement and informs decisions to improve the website’s user experience.
Project Management: the process of supervising the work of a team to achieve goals within the given constraints. Includes planning and organizing, executing, monitoring and closing.
Promotion and Outreach: increasing awareness and engagement with the organization’s offerings (such as services, events, news, new website content, etc.), typically involving coordinated messaging, visuals, and distribution across web and social platforms.
User Experience (UX): refers to the overall experience a person has when interacting with a product or service, especially in terms of how easy, enjoyable, and efficient it is to use. In the context of web design, UX focuses on creating a seamless and intuitive experience for users, ensuring that they can easily navigate the website or application, find what they need, and accomplish their goals with minimal frustration.
Webforms: interactive online forms used to collect structured information from users, such as feedback, questions for librarians and staff, proposals, or service requests.
Web Content Integration: is the process of adding and organizing various types of third-party content – such as texts, images, multimedia, and external tools and widgets – into the library website. It involves ensuring the content is displayed correctly, works seamlessly with the site’s design, and aligns with academic and user needs.
Web Design: is the process of planning and creating the layout, structure, and visual design of a website. It focuses on making the site visually appealing, functional, and easy to navigate. A key part of our web design is following user-centered design principles, which means designing the website with the needs, preferences, and behaviors of the users in mind. It also emphasizes designing for accessibility and considering diverse user perspectives. This ensures that the site is intuitive, accessible, and provides a positive experience for visitors.
Web Usability Testing: the process of evaluating how easy and user-friendly a website is by observing real users as they interact with it. The goal is to identify any issues or obstacles that might make it difficult for users to find what they're looking for or complete tasks on the site. By testing different features and gathering feedback, designers can make improvements that enhance the overall user experience, making the site more intuitive and effective.