In 1943, Ansel Adams (1902-1984), America's most well-known photographer, documented the Manzanar War Relocation Center in California and the Japanese-Americans interned there during World War II.

Densho is a nonprofit organization started in 1996, with the initial goal of documenting oral histories from Japanese Americans who were incarcerated during World War II. Densho uses digital technology to preserve and make accessible primary source materials on the World War II incarceration of Japanese Americans. We present these materials and related resources for their historic value and as a means of exploring issues of democracy, intolerance, wartime hysteria, civil rights and the responsibilities of citizenship in our increasingly global society.

The JARDA project began in 1998 with the goal of providing a single point of entry to materials held by California institutions on the subject of Japanese American relocation and incarceration during World War II. Historically, these materials had been heavily requested, but difficult to access since they were scattered across many California archives, libraries, oral history programs, and museums.

Includes digitized images and documents from The California State University System (consisting of 23 campuses, once called “the 1000 mile campus”) and the local CSU archival collections scattered throughout California.

The Korean American Digital Archive brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.

Includes PDFs and transcripts of the Blount Report (1895), the Hawaii Organic Act (1899-1900), and Anti-Annexation Petition (1897-98) .

The United States annexed Hawaii in 1898 at the urging of President William McKinley. This guide provides access to material related to the “Annexation of Hawaii” in the Library of Congress' Chronicling America digital collection of historical newspapers.

The center collects, documents, preserves, and highlights the recollections of Native Hawaiians and the multi-ethnic people of Hawaiʻi.

Oral interviews of Hawaii activists in the 1970s.

Located in the historical records of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate at the Center for Legislative Archives are many documents that illustrate the important role of stakeholders, indigenous people and Congress in the statehood process. Here is a small sampling of the many congressional records that highlight Hawaii's long and often challenged path to statehood. On August 21, 1959 Hawaii became the 50th state.

Overview and documents from the Library of Congress.

Includes Government records, photographs and indexes to passenger manifests, land, government office holders, etc.

Digitized holdings of the Hawai'i State Archives

SAADA creates a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences.

SEAAdoc is an educational resource of the Southeast Asian Archive at the UC Irvine Libraries focusing on post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam and the communities they have developed in the United States. It contains 1,500 visual images and 4,000 pages of searchable text selected from the Archive to represent a cross section of our holdings.