LibGuides: U.S. History: LGBTQ History

Databases

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 This link opens in a new window
Historical documents and other primary source materials focused on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world since the 1940s, including the gay rights movement, activism, and the HIV/AIDS crisis.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical magazines for and about the LGBTQ+ community, including the oldest surviving continuously published U.S. title of its type (The Advocate, launched in 1967).
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Historical documents and other primary sources documenting LGBT political and social movements throughout the 1900s and into the present day. The collection contains rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, pamphlets, flyers, and more.
Queer Pasts This link opens in a new window
A collection of curated primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. Each document exhibit includes 20-40 primary source documents and a critical introductory essay that helps explain the significance of the primary sources in historical terms and in relationship to previous scholarship.

ONE Archives
ONE Archives at the USC Libraries is the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives houses millions of archival items including periodicals, books, films, videos, audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records, and personal papers. ONE Archives has been a part of the University of Southern California Libraries since 2010.
Mazer Lesbian Archives
The June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives is one of the largest archives in the world dedicated to collecting, protecting, and preserving lesbian and feminist history and culture. By creating a safe place for women to explore the richness of lesbian history, perhaps adding to it themselves, we are paving the way for future generations to understand more fully their own identity and history and help maintain this vital link to their own past.