LibGuides: Audiology: Clinical Resources

Evidence-Based Clinical Support

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Provides evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support. Find summaries and recommendations for treatment, epidemiology, pathogenesis, etiology, clinical features, differential diagnosis, management, and prognosis. Additional resources include patient education, calculators, and drug interactions.

Drugs

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
The database contains a comprehensive listing of brand name product ingredients available. The Brand Product Report for each brand name product provides a quick summary of safety, effectiveness, drug interactions, and adverse effects for each ingredient contained in the product. Access provided: various
DailyMed
Created by the NIH and NLM. This website contains 95783 drug listings as submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). It has a tablet/capsule ID tool.

Patient Education Resources and Handouts

MedlinePlus
Created by the National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine. The website is also available in Spanish. It is a great resource for consumer health with easy to read health topics and videos and tools. It has consumer health handouts in 43 different languages!
UpToDate
"Basics" and "Beyond the Basics" patient health information sheets are available.

Guideline Resources

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes reliable clinical evidence from Cochrane systematic reviews, clinical trials, protocols, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

ECRI Institute
ECRI Guidelines Trust TM is a publicly available web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.
To use this resource, create a free account.
Trip
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Our motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something we aim to deliver for every single search.
As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

UpToDate Mobile App

To set up the UpToDate Mobile App, do the following:

1. Access UpToDate through the Library Website or Nursing Research Guide.

2. Click on the UpToDate link to access the resource.

3. Within UpToDate, in the upper right corner, is a link to register for an account. In order to use the UpToDate Mobile App, an account needs to be created. Click on “Register” to register for an account.

4. Fill out the fields and submit the registration

5. Download the UpToDate App from the App Store or Google Play

6. After UpToDate has been installed, login with the registration information you used to register for the UpToDate account.

7. UpToDate is now available to use on your mobile device.

PubMed Clinical Queries

Clinical Queries Filter
Using built-in filters, results of searches on this page are limited to specific clinical research areas. From the Clinical Queries page you can search by a clinical study category, find systematic reviews and run medical genetics searches.