The Genetic and Rare Diseases (GARD) Information Center is a program of the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) and funded by two parts of the National Institutes of Health (NIH): NCATS and the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI). GARD provides the public with access to current, reliable, and easy to understand information about rare or genetic diseases in English or Spanish.
An international point-of-care resource for busy clinicians, provides clinically relevant and medically actionable information for inherited conditions in a standardized journal-style format, covering diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling for patients and their families. Each chapter in GeneReviews is written by one or more experts on the specific condition or disease and goes through a rigorous editing and peer review process before being published online.
A free online resource that provides a centralized location for comprehensive genetic test information that is voluntarily submitted by test providers. The intended audience for the GTR is health care providers and researchers.
MedlinePlus Genetics is part of MedlinePlus, a resource for consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). MedlinePlus Genetics provides information for the general public about the main features and inheritance of genetic conditions as well as the normal function of related genes and chromosomes and how genetic variations contribute to conditions. MedlinePlus Genetics also includes an educational handbook called Help Me Understand Genetics that explores topics in genetics ranging from the basics of DNA to precision medicine.
OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 16,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources.
Primary aims are to increase knowledge and understanding of the ear, hearing and balance; disorders of the ear, hearing, and balance, and preventions of these disorders; and habilitation and rehabilitation of individuals with hearing and balance dysfunction.
Is the national professional, scientific, and credentialing association for more than 173,000 members and affiliates who are audiologists; speech-language pathologists; speech, language, and hearing scientists; audiology and speech-language pathology support personnel; and students.
Helps students stay current on advancements in the field, enhance their academic knowledge, find internships and employment, network with other students with similar interests, and save money on products and services.
The mission of the DRC is to advance the effective use of public data on the status of children’s health and health-related services for children, youth and families in the United States. Provides hands-on access to national, state, and regional data findings from large population-based surveys. Data are collected from parents and thus contribute a much needed voice in the drive to improve the quality of health care for children and youth
Published since 1878, this is an authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
Searching for .gov or .edu
When looking for websites using Google type in your searches, for example:
Conducts research, educates vocologists, disseminates information about voice and speech, and provides referral services in order to help people around the world enjoy healthy and effective vocal communications.