Anti-Racism and Racial Justice Resources

The Compton Communicative Arts Academy (CCAA) Archive is a multi-year project to preserve and provide access to a collection of images of national significance that document African American art and culture, community-based art making, and art-based community making in Los Angeles during the early 1970s. The 200 items in this digital collection were selected from an unorganized collection of over 4,100 photographs, negatives, slides and ephemera by faculty members from the Library and the Liberal Studies department.

Dr. Better is one of the founders of the National Association of Black Social Workers, (NABSW). She is a founder of the local chapter of NABSW — ABSW- Los Angeles; she served as President of the Chapter 2001-2003 and continues to be active throughout the association. Dr. Better received her MSW from University of Michigan and her doctorate in Social Welfare from UCLA. She retired as a full-time professor in the School of Social Work at California State University at Los Angeles in 2005. During her tenure at Cal State LA, she served in administrative roles as well as teaching. She served as Dean of the Office of Continuing Education, Director of the Associated Clinics, and was Chair of the Department of Social Work for many years. She founded and chaired the Caucus of African American Faculty. Courses taught by Dr. Better were Women’s Issues, Community Organization, Social Policy, Institutional Racism, and Social Work Practice in Minority Communities.

Jewel Plummer Cobb (1924- ), a distinguished African American biologist and academic administrator, is widely credited for her contributions to the scientific community, both through her cancer research and her commitment to equal access to educational and professional opportunities for women and minorities.

Mervyn Dymally (1926-2012) served as California State Assemblyman for the 52nd and 53rd District, and as State Senator for the 29th District. Dymally completed a Bachelor of Arts in education at California State University, Los Angeles in 1954. Dymally is known for breaking barriers as a black lawmaker in California and in Congress after moving to the United States from his native Trinidad at age 19. The collection consists of government correspondence, press clippings, press releases, speeches, and photographs.

The Cal State LA Black Student Union a leading force to helped establish the Pan-African American Studies Department in 1969. The University Times is a resource on the activities the Black Student Union in their efforts to push for more black students and faculty.

Web archive dedicated to the black lives matters movement. The collection reflects the movement building in reaction to police violence against people of color.

The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.

On May 12, 2009, the U. S. Congress authorized a national initiative by passing The Civil Rights History Project Act of 2009 (Public Law 111-19). The law directs the Library of Congress (LOC) and the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) to conduct a survey of existing oral history collections with relevance to the Civil Rights movement to obtain justice, freedom and equality for African Americans and to record new interviews with people who participated in the struggle, over a five year period beginning in 2010.

Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.

The Blackivists are a collective of trained black archivists who prioritize black cultural heritage preservation and memory work. They offer five quick tips in documenting social movements.

DocNow is a tool and a community developed around supporting the ethical collection, use, and preservation of social media content.

This is a tool for anonymizing photographs taken at protests.It will remove identifying metadata (Exif data) from photographs, and also allow you to selectively blur parts of the image to cover faces and other identifiable information.