Cal State LA Library News

University Library Publications and Grants Awarded, 2023-2024

The 2023-2024 academic year has been a remarkable period of scholarly achievement for our library personnel. This list highlights the diverse range of publications and prestigious grants awarded, reflecting the dedication to advancing research and contributing to the broader academic community. From groundbreaking studies in the relationship between information literacy and AI to innovative observations about inclusivity in archiving, our faculty members continue to push the boundaries of knowledge in their respective fields. 

Works of our faculty in the 2023-2024 academic year include:

• Sykes-Kunk, J. C., Camacho, A., & Enriquez, S. (2024). Small axe: Chipping away at special collections barriers to inclusivity. Reference Services Review, 52(1), 100-113. https://doi.org/10.1108/RSR-03-2023-0032
• Chaudhuri, J., & Dobry, A. (2023). Sustainability of open-access author fund: A case study of faculty usage patterns and APC cost. Library Philosophy and Practice, 7817.
• Chaudhuri, J. (2024). Making education affordable for students: A case study of implementation and faculty usage of an open educational resources program. Internet Reference Services Quarterly, 28(2), 153–167. https://doi.org/10.1080/10875301.2024.2317791
• Camacho A., Ramirez M., & Terrones, L. (2024). Archives, Libraries, Pedagogy at the California State University, Los Angeles. In S. Browning & M. Soto-Luna (Eds.), Serving Hispanic, Latine, and Latinx students in academic libraries (pp). Litwin Publishing.
• Ford-Baxter, T. L. (2023). An exploration of two information literacy open learning object repositories: Value, content, and engagement. Communications in Information Literacy, 17(2), 424-450. https://doi.org/10.15760/comminfolit.2023.17.2.6 
• Ford-Baxter, T. (2023). Centers for Disease Controls and Prevention’s Environmental Justice Dashboard. In A.L. Adams, Ed. “Environmental & Climate Justice Resources” (pp. 218), Public Services Quarterly. https://doi.org/10.1080/15228959.2023.2242241 
• Kim, S., Parsons, S., Franklin, K. Y., & Parker, A. G. (2023). How do Hispanic-Serving Institutions serve Latinx students?: A panel analysis of institutional characteristics and 6-year graduation rates. The AIR Professional File. Article 159. https://doi.org/10.34315/apf1592023
• Archambault, S. G., Ramachandran, S., Acosta, E., & Fu, S. (2024). Ethical dimensions of algorithmic literacy for college students: Case studies and cross-disciplinary connections. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 50(3). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2024.102865 
• Masunaga, J., Peng, L., Ford-Baxter, T., & Faulkner, K. (2023). Information literacy in English-language higher education teaching journals: A review. Communications in Information Literacy, 17(2), 353-377. https://doi.org/10.15760/comminfolit.2023.17.2.3 
• McCaslin, D., Bottorff, D.W., & Furlong, K. (2023).  Building management responsibilities for access services.  In M.J. Krasulski, & T. A. Dawes (Eds.), 21st Century Access Services: On the Frontline of Academic Librarianship (89-105).  Chicago: American Library Association.
• McCaslin, D. and Furlong, K. (2023).  Emerging technology and spaces in access services.  In M.J. Krasulski, & T. A. Dawes (Eds.), 21st Century Access Services: On the Frontline of Academic Librarianship (107-125).  Chicago: American Library Association.
• McCaslin, D. and Krasulski. (2023).  Access services in library and information science education.  In M.J. Krasulski, & T. A. Dawes (Eds.), 21st Century Access Services: On the Frontline of Academic Librarianship (207-220).  Chicago: American Library Association.

And grants awarded include:

• Council on Library and Information Resources, Restoring the Visual Record of Meso-American Artifacts, $499,728 (Principle Investigator (PI): Azalea Camacho)
• Boise State University, Using XR (Extended Reality), $156,958 (PI: Sheree Fu)
• United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc., Design Resource Collection, $45,000 (PI: Carlos Rodriguez, Dean)
• DHSI (Title V) Grant, Reclaiming Pedagogy, Community, & Student Success, $3,000,000 (Co-PI: Carlos Rodriguez, Dean)

As we gear up for another academic semester of inspiring learning experiences, we would like to highlight the incredible resources and services the Cal State LA University Library has to support your teaching, learning, and research activities.  

At the heart of our commitment to academic excellence and student success, the Library takes immense pride in offering an extensive array of scholarly and informational resources, state-of-the-art research tools, and services. Here are some key features:  

OneSearch 
Simplify your research process with our powerful discovery tool, OneSearch. This innovative platform allows you to conduct seamless searches across article-based databases, journal packages, streaming media, newspaper/magazine articles, primary sources in the Library, and print books across CSUs. Approximately 90% of the Library subscription content and open-access resources are searchable using OneSearch.  With just a few clicks, you can find, cite, save, and share your search results.  OneSearch streamlines your access to relevant information, saving you valuable time. 

Online Databases  
The Library provides you and your students with over 350 subscription databases, granting access to an astounding collection of approximately 65,000 electronic journals, 600,000 eBooks (including open-access eBooks), over 1,000 newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, and regional and international papers, and over 1 million dissertations and theses. This wealth of academic content ensures that you can delve into diverse research fields and empower your students with the most up-to-date information. To access, go to the Library homepage and click Databases, or use OneSearch to find content included in these packages.    

Course Reserves 
We emphasize the importance of having timely access to course materials and providing affordable learning materials to our students. Our Course Reserves service ensures that assigned readings, including journal articles, books, and streaming videos, are readily available to your students. Materials can be accessed online or borrowed for short-term use (2 hours, 2 days, or 7 days), providing optimal flexibility for your teaching needs. If you are teaching in the Fall Semester and have not submitted materials for course reserves, please visit the Library Faculty Reserves page to fill out the course reserves submission form to place materials on reserves for your students.  In addition, the Library provides information on how to utilize the Canvas Reading List tool, a very helpful tool to tie together course reserves and other course-relevant information resources.    

The Library is fully committed to supporting your teaching and research endeavors. We invite you to explore our vast resources and services and take full advantage of our expert liaison librarians' assistance whenever needed. Together, we can continue to create an inspiring and enriched academic environment for our students.

If you have any questions or require additional information regarding library resources, please do not hesitate to reach out to Holly Yu (hyu3@calstatela.edu).  We look forward to partnering with you in the new academic year.